We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desserts heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delicatessen

Delicatessen
Z13 La Fortuna Rd | 2 Km west from the Catholic Church on the road to the valcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 27001, Costa Rica
+506 2479 7038
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Argentinean, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Argentinian, Mexican , Italian , Costa Rican food at really good prices. A great Service "English spoken".
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Desserts heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A bunch of us split several desserts and they were absolute heaven! Tiramisu, pineapple upside down cake, cheesecake and bread pudding. I'm not a big "tiramisu" person but seriously this was amazing, the bread pudding was delicious and I haven't had cheesecake in Costa Rica that tasted this good so I can't wait to go back. I live here so this is definitely THE place when my sweet tooth kicks in. :-) So excited to have found this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Propietario at Delicatessen, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
thanks a lot wandy, always here with fresh desserts for you guys .. thanks a lot for all your support... Arturo ☮
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    17
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great gem next to magic mountain hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Food an staff were great! If you are staying at magic mountain skip their restaurant and eat here! Better food better prices and friendly staff! Best salsa I've ever had!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Gerente at Delicatessen, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
hello .... we just wanna to say than you so much for your really good review it was a pleasure to share a bite of ur food with you...
Johnny ☮
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Delicious! The owner was very personable and the atmosphere was perfect. Next time we're in Costa Rica, we'll definitely go out of our way to eat here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We will be waiting for you again! that was a very nice comment and we will be so happy to have you back we love our returning customers!! enjoy the rest of your vacations!


Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had just drove many hours from San Jose and our hotel recommended us to go there. It was perfect for us, great authentic food, great value, cooked fresh. We told them how hungry we were and they brought us chips and a wonderful homemade salsa immediately ! Empanadas were fresh and delicious and the burrito was so delicious and huge for a heavy appetite! Very reasonably priced!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Donna!!
Thank you so much! and yes we know people come in here very hungry so we give them some chips and homade salsa so they can start of with something while waiting for the food!! i am so glad you liked the restaurant and we will be so honored to have you back!! Pura Vida

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

On our way back to San Jose we stopped by for a quick cup of coffee and some food to go.
We were not disappointed. Our food was well prepared and conveniently wrapped for the road. Owner was very friendly and helpful. No wonder trip advisor has awarded them excellence!!! Pura vida

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello Edmundo!!
How was your trip to San Jose? thank you so much for the review and for stopping by at our restaurant, we loved the comment and i am sure we will be seeing you again since you like to travel so much!! see you soon Mi Amigo!

Johnny and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicatessen also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.