We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, Wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delicatessen

Delicatessen
Z13 La Fortuna Rd | 2 Km west from the Catholic Church on the road to the valcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 27001, Costa Rica
+506 2479 7038
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $8
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian, Mexican, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Argentinian, Mexican , Italian , Costa Rican food at really good prices. A great Service "English spoken".
Missoula, Montana, United States
1 review
“Amazing food, Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stumbled upon this little roadside cafe one evening looking for a quick meal, and we ended up spending two hours enjoying the fantastic food and chatting with the friendly owner. He runs the front of the house, and his wife is solo in the kitchen. You would think they had a small army in the back since we had a group of seven and somehow all of our cocktails, apps, and meals came out together. Everyone was surprised by how delicious the food was, and we weren't very hungry so that always says something! The couple running the place were so friendly, and hardworking, you wanted to give them all of your business while visiting this beautiful city. Certainly worth the stop!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi guys!!
we remember how you guys came along and thought to only stay for a little and weren't sure if to stay or not! and everyone ended up eating and staying for a good while!! jaja well I thank you so much for that comment and for letting us serve you guys! yes my wife cooks and also our cooks are just as great!! but that night she was alone and this is done with patience that's why the food came out just right! thanks really, I seriously love the entire comment you made! that always makes us smile!

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    81
    16
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Engaging People; Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We lucked into this gem during our 3-night stay in La Fortuna: good food, abundant servings and quick service at a fair price. Excellent value. But the best part were Natalie and Johnny, the owners. They are a hard-working, young family, and you can see the commitment to and pride in their business. Next door to their restaurant, they have a tour-booking business where Johnny gives helpful advice and makes bookings for several tour companies. Johnny and Natalie are friendly, helpful and engaging, and they took the time to chat and to freely share with us their knowledge and love of the area. Our last night there, Johnny spent a fair bit of time with us and our map giving directions to an alternate, scenic route back to San Jose, and talking about the pros and cons of different routes. He was very helpful and absolutely right. If we make it back to La Fortuna, DelicateSSen will be our first stop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I first want to say THANK YOU, I really really appreciate the comments! me and my husband are more than willing to help anyone when it comes getting around Costa Rica, first day we met we hit it off and the rest of the days my husband Johnny stayed with you guys to help with anything you needed and more! the food has to be abundant because why would you go to a restaurant and not be filled up!! we make sure everyone leaves with a smile on their faces! you guys made us smile the 3 days you came to our restaurant! thanks!! once again, if you decide to come back I believe you guys took one of our cards if not email us at delicatessen506@gmail.com!!

Nathalie & Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“my friend Johnny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Found this little gem late one night after a long drive from San Jose. Johnny was one of the best finds on our trip. The food was great but the Mojito that Jonny makes is the best ive ever had. We sat and talked with Johnny everyday that we were there. A new friend in a new country what a great time!!!!!! Thanks Johnny
Jason Rohr and Iris Whatley

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi guy!!
thanks for the visit, I think the first time we met we hit it off real great! I loved how you and your wife were so appreciative! thanks for everything and I am so happy you enjoyed the food we usually love people telling us what they think so if there is anything wrong we can make it better!! I hope to see you guys soon if you are ever back in Costa Rica!! thanks once again!

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, UT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We ate there 2 days in a row and loved all the food we tried. The flambed pineapple dessert with ice cream was the best thing we ate in Costa Rica. I would love to know how to make it at home!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed our food, and if you decide to come back you can try the rest of the delicious dishes we got in our menu!! and about the pineapple flambé dessert we can definitely tell you how to do it just send us a message at delicatessen506@gmail.com and we will be giving you the recipe! thanks a lot to the both of you guys!

Johnny Arturo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average food and not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The food was ok, but surely not great. The vegi ampanadas was boring and the casado was average and the taste was blant. The service was very nice and the local dog was heart warming.
Seems that the prices were a little high, compared to other places in town - for example: casado for 4300 colones (tax not included).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We want to start saying thank you so much for your comment on tripadvisor we ask everyone that eats at our restaurant to leave us a comment so everyone else can have feed back on what we offer. We are very surprised that you talked about our empanadas specially our veggi empanada since they are usually the number 1 recommendation at our restaurant we have never had any complaint until we saw this comment, but thanks it helps to know for those who do not like it what we can do about it to make it better. Also about the prices, i do not know if you notice but our plates are very abundant, we dont serve little bit of this or little bit of that we serve to make our guests full so that they do not go saying that they paid that much for that little, our CASADO is problably the biggest casado in town if you tryed it somewhere else i am sure you seen that we arent lying... again thanks for your feed back, we are a strong family that has worked hard for what we got and we will still work hard to make our customers happy...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicatessen also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park

Been to Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.