We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altamira Restaurant

Altamira Restaurant
| Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 2479-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Much better than I would expect from a hotel. A little pricey for the quality, but considering its a hotel, that's to be expected. Wonderful waitstaff and beautiful atmosphere. Highly recommend if you're staying at the hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    36
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Above par for La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nayara - so we had breakfast here every day, as well as dinner for two of the evenings. One night was a "grill out" night for July 4 - which is essentially buffet style - but we ordered off the menu both nights.
I had the Mediterranean salad, arroz con pollo, and the Churrasco. The salad was nice. The churrasco was not a churrasco - more of a rib eye steak - but cooked well enough and seasoned nicely. The arroz con pollo was great.
My husband had the tuna tartare (which he loved), the gnocchi pesto (which was average) and french fries (great)!
The staff is phenomenal and very accommodating. I wanted dessert on July 4, so the waiter told me to just go to the buffet and take what I wanted (even though I hadn't ordered the buffet).
Get the guacamole - Juan Carlos makes it great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Easily the best experience for dinner in LaFortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was quite shocked to find this restaurant is not listed in the top 5 of restaurants in the area on Tripadvisor. I am a former travel agent and wanted to experience Nayara on some level since I knew it was a special place and it was all booked up during our dates of travel. When I tried to make reservations through our hotel reception, she sort of tried to "discourage" us about going but I was insistent. I'm so glad I was!
This was my favorite meal in LaFortuna and definitely the best experience. (Cost less than Don Ruffino's) It has a beautiful, upscale-casual ambiance with live music playing softly in background. The service was 5 star. In general, we were very disappointed with food choices and prices in LaFortuna, but this was the shining star. This would not be a good choice in evenings for families with small noisy children, but our 11 yr old son has experienced fine dining enough that he was very much at home there. If you are in the area and only can do one special dinner, don't miss this one. I recommend it highly--wish we could have eaten here every day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfecrt Start to Finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

While staying at Nayara we dined here EVERY night! We never wanted to leave!
Service is personable and attentive. GET THE GUAC! (thanks Juan Carlos)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had only had one meal here, but it was excellent. The live music by the guitar player was excellent and provided a romantic atmosphere. They had a $25 price fix menu that included three courses. This was a great value and a wonderful meal. The service was excellent and we were sorry that we did not have more nights to try the restaurant again.
After your meal, don't neglect to try the wine bar. It is a fun experience with a great staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamira Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Altamira Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamira Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.