We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Christian Rocked!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacamar Naturalist Tours

Jacamar Naturalist Tours
South side of Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
506 2479-9767
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“"Christian Rocked!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I took a first time trip to Costa Rica, and knew nothing about which tour group to use. Jacamar was our airport transfer. Christian was the guide, and he was GREATT!! Gave us great advice on the 45 min ride from the aiport to the hotel. Upon our stay in Guanacaste, we booked other tours. To our pleasant surprise, Christian was our Arenal Volcano/Rainforest tour guide! He totally remembered us! He really was great! Stopped to point of out special animals, such as Tucans and Monkeys, and really gave us some great cultural and historic information about Costa Rica. Highly recommend this tour group and ask for Christian!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    12
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I recently returned from a trip to Costa Rica during which we went on several excursions with Jacamar. The guides were fantastic - very knowledgeable and friendly, and they all spoke English quite well. The excursions were overall very enjoyable, although the weather was not good for our hike up Chatto Hill. Nonetheless, Jacamar did an excellent job for us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun fun fun rafting on the Balsa River...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We actually booked our rafting adventure thru our hotel could not have picked a better tour myself. Request Esteban aka Chocolate and Gerald as your guides. They had to switch the river we were going to raft due to the amount of rain that had fallen. Chocolate and Gerald made the trip just as fun. The change worked out fantastic and we had the opportunity to have lunch at a local organic farm. The feast included a typical tico lunch and a taste of sugar cane spirits. They made our adventure very memorable. Book your rafting adventure with these guys you will be glad you did.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked two Jacamar Tours through our hotel, Nayara. Both of our tour guides were extremely knowledgable, and we were very impressed with their ability to spot hard to find wildlife. Our tour of the Arenal Volcano turned out to be just us, which was especially nice. Would definitely use Jacamar again!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buena Vista Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I highly, HIGHLY, recommend Jacamar Tours. Our tour guide was Alonso and he was fantastic - very knowledgeable about Costa Rica, personable, helpful, and had a great sense of humor to boot! We went ziplining, horseback riding, visited a hot spring, and had a mud bath. As an added bonus Alonso took us on a trail to a tucked away waterfall that was absolutely gorgeous. The tour was well organized and even the driver, Rodrigo (sp?) was good company. We had 14 people in the tour and but it felt very intimate.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacamar Naturalist Tours also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jacamar Naturalist Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacamar Naturalist Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.