We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Perla

Rancho Perla
Un costado del banco nacional, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
506 24791940
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a very nice meal here. I had a Costa Rican rice dish with chicken and my husband enjoyed a steamed snapper. Overall, very good food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service with Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Tabacon Hot Springs and starting bringing friends to La Perla. We have been very pleased with the quality and quantity of food we are served. We are especially fond of their generous portions of escargots that we ordered for an appetizer.

The service is also very good. However, be careful because many waiters may tell tourist in Costa Rica that the tip is not included in your check. The fact is that there is a 10% charge "servico" added to your check with is the customary tip in Costa Rica. Of course its o.k. to tip a little extra for exceptional service but be careful not to double tip. This goes across the board in all of Costa Rica.

The atmosphere is typical open air and very spacious. Overall a very favorable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The variety was great -- you can get traditional Costa Rican, plus lots of great steaks and seafood. All the dishes were artistically presented and tasted as good as they looked.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy food in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went here two nights in a row we liked it so much. Everything we had there off the vegetarian menu was really good and I loved that they had options beyond the 'veg casado'. And it was really reasonably priced compared to a lot of places. Definitely check it out. Yummy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food and beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We got the ceviche which was probably the best we had in Costa Rica, and the chicken fajitas which were also very delicious. The restaurant itself is also very beautiful and open, and the server was very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Perla also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Rancho Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.