We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Perla

Rancho Perla
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 1940
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a very nice meal here. I had a Costa Rican rice dish with chicken and my husband enjoyed a steamed snapper. Overall, very good food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pookandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service with Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Tabacon Hot Springs and starting bringing friends to La Perla. We have been very pleased with the quality and quantity of food we are served. We are especially fond of their generous portions of escargots that we ordered for an appetizer.

The service is also very good. However, be careful because many waiters may tell tourist in Costa Rica that the tip is not included in your check. The fact is that there is a 10% charge "servico" added to your check with is the customary tip in Costa Rica. Of course its o.k. to tip a little extra for exceptional service but be careful not to double tip. This goes across the board in all of Costa Rica.

The atmosphere is typical open air and very spacious. Overall a very favorable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RRodriguez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The variety was great -- you can get traditional Costa Rican, plus lots of great steaks and seafood. All the dishes were artistically presented and tasted as good as they looked.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trainwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy food in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went here two nights in a row we liked it so much. Everything we had there off the vegetarian menu was really good and I loved that they had options beyond the 'veg casado'. And it was really reasonably priced compared to a lot of places. Definitely check it out. Yummy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food and beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We got the ceviche which was probably the best we had in Costa Rica, and the chicken fajitas which were also very delicious. The restaurant itself is also very beautiful and open, and the server was very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Perla also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Rancho Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing