We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we ate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Perla

Rancho Perla
Un costado del banco nacional, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
506 24791940
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Best place we ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Everything they make is superb! We had several group and individual meals at Rancho Perla and loved everything they served. Service was also superb.. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York. PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had lunch at the restaurant as well as dinner. We found both experiences to be very enjoyable. For dinner we had fish among other items on a buffet. The fish was excellent. I was with a large group and we were served very quickly. I would recommend this restaurant and I would definitely return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent but too fast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really loved Rancho Perla. The structure is a copy of building of indigenous people. The menu is varied. One of the specials the night we dined was salmon with capers and orange sauce: very good. My husband's dinner was excellent. My only complaint is that they push the diners too fast. The server was at our table about every two minutes wanting our order but kept forgetting to pick up our drinks. My entree came out while I was only half through my appetizer. So I recommend this restaurant if you are in a hurry or if you can figure out a way to communicate to the server that you want to take your time with your meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“best grilled seafood plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

this is a large and busy place but don't get talked into ordering from the 3 option standard menu (if other large groups are eating) those in our 16 person group who ordered what they wanted anyway got their meals first and they were great. A huge plate of the most wonderful grilled seafood (marisco), a friend was also very happy with lobster. I will dream of this marisco for a long, long, time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stopped with a group of 16. The service was superb. The food was outstanding. I had the shrimp and avacado salad. It was wonderful, just the right amount of dressing. My husband had the steak special. He loved it. The meals were well prepared.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Perla also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Rancho Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.