We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fortuna Waterfall

La Fortuna Waterfall
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$81*
and up
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fremont, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's a Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Be prepared - 480 stairs down...which means...480 back up. It's an beautiful, powerful waterfall. Water is clear and a little cold for me. if you take the stairs to the left, there is a calm beach. Water shoes are a must. If you have a car, it's easy to find, but still cost to get in.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,247
    531
    128
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth Every Step!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Yes the road in is bumpy, Yes it is a straight down hike, Yes it is even harder going back up but it is WORTH EVERY MINUTE! The waterfall is so powerful and beautiful. The way down is steep and it was muddy. We saw people carrying kids down the stairs I can not imagine going back up carrying a child and trying to pull yourself up, just silly. Do yourself a favor and wear shoes we saw people in flip flops...Ekkk! Thankfully we went early it was getting VERY busy when we were ready to leave.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OMG !!! This place is AMAZING.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great place to visit and very affordable $10, the ride is very bumpy but it was sooooo worth it. Crystal clear frio, frio water and amazing waterfall, great swimming. This is NOT for people out of shape, you have to go down over 500 steps that you must crawl back UP ! Great experience, very nice and friendly people.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The 500 steps to Bliss !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Totally worth it... We spent about 3 hours here and arrived later in the afternoon. There were about 15 people there very quiet. Tried on several occassions to swim to the waterfall, but failed ! The power was just amazing. Cold water, but so very refreshing. There is a huge tree that has fallen and you can jump from it, but please note it is only about 5-6ft deep so I do not suggest a dive and jump as far out as you can. We packed our small back packs with towels, water, camera's and light snacks. You may want bug spray too as they loved me !! The hike back up the steps was fun and once at the top I was sure my legs had been left behind as I could not feel them. Once again this is a must. No guide needed, but I do suggest hiking boots or tennis shoes. Not flip flops.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quite an incline! But worth every step!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It is quite a climb and the reason it gets crowded at times is the tour buses stop there. Go before noon and the crowds are less. I think the tour buses bring people there in the afternoon to cool off. The stairs are really steep going down and of course high coming up. The waterfall is beautiful and the water really clean and beautiful. You need to be in some shape to make it but there is no hurry so you can take your time. Remember you are in a rain forest so be prepared. There are about 500 stairs one way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fortuna Waterfall also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Fortuna Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fortuna Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.