We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort to get there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fortuna Waterfall

La Fortuna Waterfall
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$81*
and up
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to get there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The waterfall is beautiful and not strenuous to get to, but a lot of work to get back to the top. It's down over 400 steps which means, of course, it's 400 steps back to the top!! This is not for anyone who isn't in fairly good shape! And it's very humid, which makes sweating unbelieveable. But I'm glad I did it!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortunaWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at La Fortuna Waterfall, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I am also glad that you were able to appreciate the beauty of this natural monument. I am very thrill that you made it and was proud of it. Your choice, I am sure will add to your spiritual and physical wellness. We hope to see you and your friends soon. Come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,259
    540
    133
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I've been to many waterfalls but this one is about the most impressive. Its down in a gorge hence the reason for the steep walk down and then back up. You can swim but the volume of water pouring in from the falls makes it very turbulent. I recommend going in with sandels or water shoes to help deal with the rocks. You can do the whole thing in 1 -1.5 hrs and have plently of time at the bottom. I noticed some places offering "Guides" for this trip. Don't waste your money there is no need for a guide.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So beautiful--great exercise--wish I'd brought my swimsuit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My mom and I decided to do this at the last minute our last morning in La Fortuna. We had about four hours to kill and someone suggested this to us. I'm SO glad we went. We had no idea you could swim, or we would have come prepared to do so. It's $10 to get into the park, which seems overpriced, but it's worth it. We hiked from La Fortuna, which took about 2 hours to get there and all on paved roads--nothing very natural--so I'm not sure it was worth it, but we got some exercise and saved money (a taxi ride would've been at least $10, if not more). Just make sure you are prepared for a good hike--water and hair ties--because it's a lot of uphill. Once you're there, there are souvenir and snack shops inside you can go to. There's a lookout you can go to to see the waterfalls from far away, and then you walk down stairs (480, to be exact) to get to the base of the waterfall, with various lookout points along the way. It was so worth it! The base of the waterfall is incredible. My only regret is we didn't have our swimsuits along because we didn't know you could swim. Very rewarding and worthwhile experience. I'm glad we crammed it into the 4 hour window we had!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Simply stunning, and you can swim here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We loved our waterfall hike. The area is really lush, green, and beautiful. We were expecting something sort of wild, but there's a nice sized parking lot and an organized entry where you pay the admission fee. We had a taxi driver drop us off and then used the phone at the front desk to call him when we were ready to be picked up. The hike up and down is mostly steps set with pavers, and there's also an observation deck if you don't want to hike all the way down. The hike down isn't difficult, but we saw several people stopping to catch their breath on the way back up just because it's a little steep in spots. The waterfall itself is absolutely gorgeous. Someone told us about a small set of steps off to the left, and they led down to a beautiful little "beach" area away from the force of the falls. The river is crystal clear there, so clear in fact that we could see fish swimming in it. Definitely wear your bathing suit under your clothes if you want to take a dip. We got a lot of great pictures at this spot.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must See in La Fortuna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The fortuna waterfall its top3 must see while in La Fortuna, This beautiful waterfall its a gem. The great thing is that you can swim in it. its a $10 to get in and theres is a look out point, then you walk about 500 steps, pretty steep but worth it to get to the waterfall and swim. Great for pictures.
The great thing is that the money you pay goes back into the town for social works because the waterfall its own by the Fortuna town!
Must see if in La Fortuna!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fortuna Waterfall also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Fortuna Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fortuna Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.