We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kappa Sushi Fortuna

Kappa Sushi Fortuna
Diagonal al parque de la Fortuna | 25 metros norte del Banco Nacional, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica
506 2479 16 39
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a sushi bar, our goal is that locals and tourists have the opportunity to eat the best sushi fusion with a reasonable price and at the same time with the best quality and freshness of Costa Rica
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great sushi great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a boat of sushi (40 rolls) great value tasty and super service. Fancied a change from typical costa ricaN food so this was a good option. Would go back !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    22
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great sushi! Try the ponzu roll.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great food and friendly service. It's not the cheapest but the quality is definitely there. Try it out! The ponzu roll is delicious, as are the other rolls (dynamite, salmon, etc.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Service and Low Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great quality, very tasty sushi and a wide variety of choices. Prices range from various at $8 to a few at $10, $12 and $15 for extreme, varied rolls. I especially recommend the PONZU and the Rainbow. They made a Non-Rice Hand Roll for my girlfriend that doesn't eat rice. This type of specialized service is a premier example of the level of service and help that they give to each guest. They greet you with a smile and are especially courteous upon answering any questions and giving any recommendations. If you arrive in La Fortuna and appreciate great Japanese Sushi this is the best place, don't leave without trying it. They're open late, until 10pm. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic sushi, fantastic people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Clearly there's a trend here- great food and great people, but it's because it's true! A research project put me in La Fortuna for two months, so I can say with confidence that this is one of the best restaurants in town. The rolls are original and very tasty- I loved the Ponzu roll (spicy tuna with sriracha, avocado, etc.) so much that I couldn't hardly bring myself to try anything else.The restaurant is owned and run by two wonderful people who are passionate about what they do. And oh, what a relief from casados! Absolutely check this one out if you are in La Fortuna.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“excellent food, lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am in fact a resident of La Fortuna. I am probably one of the best sushi places i have eaten at both in the states and our of my country. There is attention to detail and it is apparet that these guys know what they are doing - everything is delicious - my favorites are the tempura dishes which are fabulous - i am literally there 3-4 times a week - i cant get enough

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kappa Sushi Fortuna also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Kappa Sushi Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kappa Sushi Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.