We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kappa Sushi Fortuna

Kappa Sushi Fortuna
Diagonal al parque de la Fortuna | 25 metros norte del Banco Nacional, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica
506 2479 16 39
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are a sushi bar, our goal is that locals and tourists have the opportunity to eat the best sushi fusion with a reasonable price and at the same time with the best quality and freshness of Costa Rica
Squamish, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Tasty and beautiful sushi, the miso soup is delicious! And really good service. It is also a nice break from the typical casado of Cosat Rica...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
“I have always loved the sushi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

During my staying in Fortuna I decided to have a romantic dinner with my wife. I was looking for the ideal restaurant. I decided the "Kappa Sushi Restaurant", it was very close from my hotel and downtown. We had a great night and I really liked the service and the environment. I recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“if you come from a city with good sushi - you will not like this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After 5 days of casado, I was up for a change and went to trip advisor for recs. Unfortunately this was the first time TA let me down. It was soooo not good. the suushi was mooshy and didn't really taste fresh. I generally don't waste, but that night we made an exception since we didn't want to risk it. The restaurant is cute and the staff is very friendly, but it was totally empty the entire time we were there. Should have followed our gut and not gone into an empty place.

We live in San Francisco which has amazing sushi, so I think the great reviews for this place are likely from those not from sushi cities.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sushi in Costa Rica?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

YES!!! and it was good. worth the stop if your in La Fortuna! Many local and visitors were there.Nice size portions and fresh

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Creative Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Looking to take a break from the sodas, we ate at Kappa one night. The sushi was good and tasted fresh. On a lark, they made a yucca and mahi roll for us - really interesting, really good, and the first time we ate raw mahi. Also, the miso soup was very flavorful. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kappa Sushi Fortuna also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Kappa Sushi Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kappa Sushi Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.