We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just visited the hot springs/buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hot Springs

Los Lagos Hot Springs
Hotel los Lagos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
506 2479-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Wellness & Spas
Attraction details
Niagara Falls, ON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Just visited the hot springs/buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our G Adventures guide brought us here & we ate at the buffet (we arrived late & got the tail end of the food so weren't overly impressed). Afterwards we tried out the hot springs pools which were nice ... but a little TOO warm for me. We also tried the crazy waterslide. The grounds looked gorgeous... would have loved to seen the property in daytime!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    59
    20
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hot springs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hot springs were average. We thought the hot springs area was not well taken care of - paint chipping and worn looking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“broken down swimming pools”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had high hopes for the springs here but were so disappointed when we arrived. Several of the pools were not in service, they were run down and appeared dirty (not from minerals but from litter). The place was one of the worst we visited in La Fortuna and I requested a refuned from the touring company who booked us. We enjoyed The Springs much more - this is not worth the savings - a case of you get what you paid for - but worse.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Time In-Between Tours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! Our 13 year old twins had zip-lined in the morning right at the resort. They were scheduled for a 5pm Nocturnal Hanging Bridges tour. After the canopy tour, we had 4 hours "to kill". Los Lagos suggested we stay at the Hot Springs for the afternoon-free for the teenagers who did the zip line and only $15 for the parent to enter the hot springs resort. What an amazing deal!! It was the PERFECT passing of 4 hours. Our hotel was far away and we did not have a car, so this was perfect.

The springs are nothing like Tabacon so I wouldn't necessarily stay here at the hotel because of the pools. But it does appear that the hotel is currently adding and modifying. The locker room is very clean and accessible. The pool area was also clean. Our boys enjoyed the slides.

The bar around the pool area is fun and engaging. The non-alcoholic smoothies are fabulous. The food from the bar is AWFUL!

So, for what our purposes were, this was great to be there. I wouldn't make it my actual destination. I would pay the huge amount and go to Tabacon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for a swim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is super fun because it has three big slides, one of which goes into a giant hot tub with a swim up bar. There were people drinking things out of pineapples and everything in there! We were only here for one evening but we had a great time swimming, and the dinner buffet was excellent - more than just rice and beans if you know what I'm saying! Some of the smaller hot springs seemed dirty and not fun to be in but the regular swimming pool and the larger ones were great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Lagos Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Los Lagos Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.