We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay but more expensive that we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse
Costado Correo, Segundo Planta(second floor) | In the Center of Fortuna, Next to the Post Office, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly The Sleeping Indian Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Good place to stay but more expensive that we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good place to stay but more expensive that we expected. In the Lonely Planet Central America on a shoestring 8th edition october 2013 it was 30US$ by night. In reality it was 45US$ by night. It is located in down town LaFortuna so we can walk to the grocery and restaurants.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
World
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a pleasant enough stay at The Sleeping Indian, there was a problem with our shuttle and Peter and pooch Rocky picked us up instead from the airport, for the same price.

The guesthouse is very open air, with a large social gathering area, and a small kitchenette prepping station which makes it feel more like a hostel. Most kitchen utensils and pots/pans are provided but there is no oven, only a two hob cooker. A communal fridge is available to keep your food, of which is highly recommended; La Fortuna is very tropical and ants are a problem everywhere as well as mosquitos.

Six rooms at the guesthouse make it calmer than it would a busy hostel. Our room was a double with ensuite and a fan for the hotter days. It was clean and comfortable but basic, and found the mosquito netting on the windows to be quite badly ripped. The shower and toilet were clean, the shower itself had good pressure though water was always tepid not hot.

La Fortuna is small, and lead towards tourism; it's worthwhile doing some tours as you can't get around very independently, but when you do make sure to shop around to get a good price. Heidy and Peter can usually get a discounted price with Red Lava Tours nearby but after shopping around independently and finding much cheaper prices elsewhere, we then got even further discounts by going directly back to Red Lava as they then matched the lower price.

Heidy who manages the property gives an overview of 'rules' for guests on arrival, and is almost always on hand to answer questions. Peter also lives in one of the rooms at the guesthouse.

Note – take earplugs! The walls are thin and the guesthouse is on a main road, lots of motorbikes and heavy trucks speeding past makes for light sleeping.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

My wife and I decided to book a room here online based on TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet recommendations. Arrived and both Peter and the nice lady working the desk had no idea we had pre-booked and paid for the room - no biggie. We were shown our room. Seemed clean and very basic, the fan didn't really do much as it was September and extremely humid. We literally put our bags on the floor and went into town to get something to eat, didn't use the bathroom, didn't sit on the bed. In town we met some friends staying at another place in the main area, totally randomly, so we decided we'd like to stay at the same place as them. Less than 2 hours had passed since we arrived at The Sleeping Indian. We immediately went back to the room to try to initiate the move but nobody was there, not Peter or the receptionist. We had their cell #'s so I called and was able to get the receptionist on the phone. I explained the situation and ask if our room cost could be refunded. I then heard her speaking to Peter in the background. He was very rudely saying "no refunds, no refunds!" I explained that the room was untouched, and they weren't even aware of our reservation, so it's not like they were losing money. I said even a partial refund would be appreciated, but Peter again coldly said "no refunds." I politely told her we were leaving anyway, and left the key on the desk.

This is not good customer service. I would completely understand giving us no refund under different circumstances, but it was just rude and greedy to keep our money when there was no cost or loss to Peter. It's his choice to keep our money, and for that, in return, I'll write this review.

Now I don't think The Sleeping Indian is a terrible place, I just think you really can do better, as we quickly realized. You can get a room somewhere closer to the more lively part of town with A/C, hot water, breakfast and the rest of it for the same price, maybe even less.

Also, I'm clearly upset at the way Peter treated us and the whole situation, and wanted to write this as a warning to backpackers traveling on a budget that behind the smile is someone who clearly doesn't really care about his guests and obviously just sees dollar signs.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter f, Owner at The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
As you can see, this review is a complete departure from the positive responses that we have had over a very long time. The guests were referred to our cnacellation policy but felt that we should make some exception to them when they made the booking and had committed to reserving the room. They had checked in and when they me some friends in town they all of a sudden wanted to cancel so they move into the hotel where their friends were staying and expected a full refund!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

What a lovely, lovely place to stay in La Fortuna!! I can't recommend it highly enough. Peter is the perfect host (as is his assistant, Heidy), the space is beautiful and inviting, and having kitchen access is just wonderful. The location couldn't be better, as it puts you right in downtown Fortuna, with walking access to whatever you might want (grocery stores, restaurants, bars, the bus terminal). All in all, I loved it so much I didn't want to leave. I ended up booking another night and I'm glad I did!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a perfect place for us to stay. Very reasonably priced and quite comfortable. Our room was clean with big window, warm shower, and enough space to spread out. The common area provided great extra space to relax and read orbrowse the internet via the free wifi. The staff gave good food recommendations that we took advantage of.

The kitchen is, like many guesthouse kitchens, rather small. Definitely not enough counter room for more than one person to be cooking. We mostly only used the space to make coffee and tea and I'm grateful we weren't counting on doing more.

As a booking note, they sometimes have trouble receiving reservations made through 3-party sites such as HostelWorld or Booking.com. This happened to us but we got lucky and they had a room available so it was not a problem. But you might not be as lucky, so definitely consider contacting them directly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It feels like home...comfortable, quiet, friendly. Peter is an exceptional host and a great friend. My room was cozy and private. The kitchen is clean and inviting. I love the hammock and the artwork. Everything about the Sleeping Indian Guesthouse is PURA VIDA.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed 2 night and it was perfect staying! The girl who work there helped us with a lot of information. The location is right on the center. The rooms are very clean. There is special and good shared zone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Address: Costado Correo, Segundo Planta(second floor) | In the Center of Fortuna, Next to the Post Office, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly The Sleeping Indian Hostel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are nestled in the heart of La Fortuna. A guesthouse which offers the perfect accommodations for those who want the convenience of being in the heart of La Fortuna, within walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shopping and just minutes from area tours and attractions. Our Guest house offers five guest rooms all with private baths, high speed internet. Onsite spa and tour office. We have a new kitchen with all the implements for you to prepare your meals and we offer daily maid service apon request. WE have everything short of an oven - which is a rarity in Costa Rica - guests enjoy cooking meals every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.