We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal in an expensive sea of tourism” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse
Costado Correo, Segundo Planta(second floor) | In the Center of Fortuna, Next to the Post Office, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly The Sleeping Indian Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great deal in an expensive sea of tourism”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a perfect place for us to stay. Very reasonably priced and quite comfortable. Our room was clean with big window, warm shower, and enough space to spread out. The common area provided great extra space to relax and read orbrowse the internet via the free wifi. The staff gave good food recommendations that we took advantage of.

The kitchen is, like many guesthouse kitchens, rather small. Definitely not enough counter room for more than one person to be cooking. We mostly only used the space to make coffee and tea and I'm grateful we weren't counting on doing more.

As a booking note, they sometimes have trouble receiving reservations made through 3-party sites such as HostelWorld or Booking.com. This happened to us but we got lucky and they had a room available so it was not a problem. But you might not be as lucky, so definitely consider contacting them directly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It feels like home...comfortable, quiet, friendly. Peter is an exceptional host and a great friend. My room was cozy and private. The kitchen is clean and inviting. I love the hammock and the artwork. Everything about the Sleeping Indian Guesthouse is PURA VIDA.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed 2 night and it was perfect staying! The girl who work there helped us with a lot of information. The location is right on the center. The rooms are very clean. There is special and good shared zone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This little hotel was a good deal! We were four couples traveling together, and each had our own room and bathroom. There is a large common living area with a nice balcony that overlooks the church and square. Lots of restaurants within walking distance as well as grocery store. The nice young woman who was there to check us in was helpful with tour suggestions and places to go.

There is wifi and a kitchen to use. Also parking in the back. Was very inexpensive, so a great deal!

Room Tip: Rooms are all pretty much the same. There is no air conditioning, but there are fans. With windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Peter is a great host! He gave us great suggestions on tours and whats what in the town. He even helped us book some of them. Rocky is a fun dog! He will play fetch all day if you are game. The rooms are clean! They have their own bathrooms! The common space is awesome, bright and breezy. The balcony has a view of the church and park. You can also see the Arenal Volcano from the balcony. The kitchen is stocked with all the stuff you might need to cook up some food. There is also a phone that Peter let us use for some local calls. The location was super convenient in the town that is about 2 streets wide and 5 streets long. It is less that 2 blocks from about >5 restaurants and 3 blocks from the grocery stores and several clothing and souvenir stores. . Post office is about 30 feet from the front door (across the driveway). It can be noisy occasionally with cars and motorcycles riding by, so I suggest ear plugs. Christmas celebration in La Fortuna gets a bit loud, but fun. There was quite the crowd at the park (about 100 feet away), with the high school marching band and lights and people everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window. The area is quite warm so, having a window was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a great place to "set up camp" for 3-4 days. The open, airy living room makes a wonderful place to meet fellow travelers from all corners of the globe or kick back in the indoor hammock and read. The kitchen facilities allowed us to cook with some local ingredients from the supermarket, just across the park.

The rooms and house were clean. And the free laundry set up was a blessing!

And Heidi helped us to book different tours and answer all our questions.

A friendly place all around!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Comfortable, use of kitchen and utensils,and friendly and helpful staff Heidi and Maria, very quiet at night but near center of town opposite church.Large room and very nice art and effects in common area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Address: Costado Correo, Segundo Planta(second floor) | In the Center of Fortuna, Next to the Post Office, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly The Sleeping Indian Hostel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are nestled in the heart of La Fortuna. A guesthouse which offers the perfect accommodations for those who want the convenience of being in the heart of La Fortuna, within walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shopping and just minutes from area tours and attractions. Our Guest house offers five guest rooms all with private baths, high speed internet. Onsite spa and tour office. We have a new kitchen with all the implements for you to prepare your meals and we offer daily maid service apon request. WE have everything short of an oven - which is a rarity in Costa Rica - guests enjoy cooking meals every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.