We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse
Costado Correo, Segundo Planta(second floor) | In the Center of Fortuna, Next to the Post Office, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly The Sleeping Indian Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This little hotel was a good deal! We were four couples traveling together, and each had our own room and bathroom. There is a large common living area with a nice balcony that overlooks the church and square. Lots of restaurants within walking distance as well as grocery store. The nice young woman who was there to check us in was helpful with tour suggestions and places to go.

There is wifi and a kitchen to use. Also parking in the back. Was very inexpensive, so a great deal!

Room Tip: Rooms are all pretty much the same. There is no air conditioning, but there are fans. With windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Peter is a great host! He gave us great suggestions on tours and whats what in the town. He even helped us book some of them. Rocky is a fun dog! He will play fetch all day if you are game. The rooms are clean! They have their own bathrooms! The common space is awesome, bright and breezy. The balcony has a view of the church and park. You can also see the Arenal Volcano from the balcony. The kitchen is stocked with all the stuff you might need to cook up some food. There is also a phone that Peter let us use for some local calls. The location was super convenient in the town that is about 2 streets wide and 5 streets long. It is less that 2 blocks from about >5 restaurants and 3 blocks from the grocery stores and several clothing and souvenir stores. . Post office is about 30 feet from the front door (across the driveway). It can be noisy occasionally with cars and motorcycles riding by, so I suggest ear plugs. Christmas celebration in La Fortuna gets a bit loud, but fun. There was quite the crowd at the park (about 100 feet away), with the high school marching band and lights and people everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window. The area is quite warm so, having a window was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a great place to "set up camp" for 3-4 days. The open, airy living room makes a wonderful place to meet fellow travelers from all corners of the globe or kick back in the indoor hammock and read. The kitchen facilities allowed us to cook with some local ingredients from the supermarket, just across the park.

The rooms and house were clean. And the free laundry set up was a blessing!

And Heidi helped us to book different tours and answer all our questions.

A friendly place all around!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Comfortable, use of kitchen and utensils,and friendly and helpful staff Heidi and Maria, very quiet at night but near center of town opposite church.Large room and very nice art and effects in common area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Guesthouse is very nice, with very big and nicely decorated common space, including two balconies, well equipped kitchen, sofas, Costa Rica guides and so more.
Rooms are clean and absolutely sufficient for all our needs.
Peter and his dog Rocky were very friendly and Peter gave us nice tips for trips, free hot spring river, good restaurants and many more.
We really enjoyed our stay in Peter's very good located place in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel met all of our needs. The host was very gracious, helping us connect with many of the local activities and sites. The beds were comfortable, and the environment was relaxed and welcoming. It is located in central La Fortuna with excellent access to the town shops and markets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna, Costa Rica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have lived in La Fortuna for over a year now and with all of our family coming to visit we need a bigger place than our little house could accommodate. The Sleeping Indian is centrally located in La Fortuna and served our needs quite well. We rented the whole thing for a reasonable rate and only had our family to share with. With 10 people and 2 cars we were glad that so much is at walking distance.

A big plus is the ability to do laundry. Living here, we know that any sunny day is a laundry day. The dryer here got rid of the extra weight that moisture brings to everything that will absorb it.

The grand kids loved the hammock that hangs from the high ceiling in the common room.
Being a family that was all here at once I think we put an extra load on the electrical system and popped an electrical breaker. A call to the handyman got it fixed and we were ok.

Since we live in La Fortuna, we really didn't have need of suggestions for tours. We have many friends that work in the industry. We did the Arenal Observatory trails and Los Laureles Hot Springs. (Never seen a tour bus here, mostly Costa Rican)

Room Tip: We live in Costa Rica. If you don't see some insects, think of the poison some places use to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse

Address: Costado Correo, Segundo Planta(second floor) | In the Center of Fortuna, Next to the Post Office, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly The Sleeping Indian Hostel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are nestled in the heart of La Fortuna. A guesthouse which offers the perfect accommodations for those who want the convenience of being in the heart of La Fortuna, within walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shopping and just minutes from area tours and attractions. Our Guest house offers five guest rooms all with private baths, high speed internet. Onsite spa and tour office. We have a new kitchen with all the implements for you to prepare your meals and we offer daily maid service apon request. WE have everything short of an oven - which is a rarity in Costa Rica - guests enjoy cooking meals every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sleeping Indian Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.