We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Novillo del Arenal

El Novillo del Arenal
On the road to Tabacon, 10 KM outside of Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 1910
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to this restaurant at the recommendation of our driver who brought us to the Tabacon Resort. What a treat!!!! Probably the best steak we have ever eaten! We enjoyed the steak, the service and the price so much, we went back the next evening for chicken and seafood which did not disappoint as well. The plates are beautifully prepared, colorful and FRESH! Highly recommend!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schomberg, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Steak and the name is El Novillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Recommended by Suzy at Villa Decary we stopped here late afternoon for an early supper. They recommended a non-menu New York Strip steak. It was huge, tasty and so tender my knife fell through it. It was local Costa Rican beef and really outstanding. My wife had a filet mignon with mushroom sauce which was similarly outstanding.
Found it hard to find the restaurant to review as the name is slightly wrong and the 'Del Arenal' has been dropped but the photos including the cow statue confirmed it as the same place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We ordered the ribeye steak and pork chop. Loved them both! Well cooked and large portions!

Service was very attentive and the view was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Since quite a few of the previous reviews only talked about steak dishes we were reluctant to try this restaurant since we had steak the previous night. But, the weather was rainy with dense fog sowe didn't feel like driving into La Fortuna for dinner. I'm glad we came here, because this restaurant was one of the best we went to in Costa Rica. We started dinner with a shrimp and squid ceviche appetizer, which was exceptional. I had mixed seafood in a garlic sauce which was very good. I don't remember what my wife had. We skipped desert that night because the appetizer and entre were very filling.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient spot for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Went here for lunch between a trip to the Hanging Bridges and a hike in the national park. Food was fairly simple but tasty, and the open air ambiance was quite nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Novillo del Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to El Novillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Novillo del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.