We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Novillo del Arenal

El Novillo del Arenal
On the road to Tabacon, 10 KM outside of Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 1910
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Girlfriend and I ate here as part of our package with Athica Canopy Tours. This place make really great casado. GF had the chicken, I had the beef, and we shared. Add a couple of Imperials to the mix, and you have a really great meal I full view of Arenal Volcano. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    23
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unpretentious Delicious Steak House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is simple tasty Costa Rican food in an open air sitting. The portions are ample and include potatoes, salad, and bread. My house special steak was cooked perfectly and was delicious. Wine beer and alcoholic drinks are available in a limited selection. Service was good but not overly attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stopped here after our zip line adventure. We were starving and in need of a good meal. We came to the perfect place. This family owned and runned restaurant was amazing. We each ordered a different type of steak and they were all perfect. The portions were more than enough. The service and ambience was great. We recommend this restaurant to everyone that is in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Don't judge this place by the sign...you can hardly read it, but the food is SO good. I had the steak special and the meat quality was really good. It tasted more fresh than what we get in the states.
This is a small place off the main road- it has a statue of a cow out front!
A must go for a good value and tasty meal!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Large Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner here. Huge cuts of steak, and great service. Pretty resonably priced items on the menu for the amout of food they serve.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Novillo del Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to El Novillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Novillo del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.