We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, lousy service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Coffee

My Coffee
Main Street, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Located in the center of town.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good food, lousy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

so after reading so many good reviews about my coffee on tripadvisor, my husband and I decided to have breakfast there. the food was indeed really delicious. I had the american breakfast and he had the typical one. everything was very good.
the only downside at my coffee was the service. seemed like none of the employees wanted to work. the place was far from crowded (just our table and a couple more), but we kinda had to beg to order our dishes and to get the check... I thought it was a little weird, cause almost everywhere else we went in costa rica, service was always helpful and friendly. maybe they (all) were having a bad day that day. who knows.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    72
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, where's my refill...?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stumbled on this place and decided to give it a try for breakfast. This was one of the tastier 'typical' costa rican breakfasts we've had although I felt it to be a little on the pricier side. Comes with coffee (espresso), but then no regular drip coffee options thus no refills.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Well, I have to go to La Fortuna many times, but one day I give me a very good opportunity and I took a cup of coffee in this place, this was the first of many. This place is really good, looks expensive but is not, the different kinds of coffee and the prices are great, for me is a mandatory stop here always that I go to Arenal Volcano so I hope that you will enjoy a great coffee adventure

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very nice place with seating facing the park. Lots of people watching opportunities. The coffee was great and the price was less than you'd pay for a Starbucks drink.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stopped here for an ice coffee and ended up having lunch too. Basic drink and food choices. Covered seating on the main drag where you can people watch until the cows come home.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Coffee also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to My Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.