We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOSPITALITY! Very Personal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bijagua

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bijagua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Bijagua
1 1/2 km La Fortuna Center Hwy 142 | Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$5 off room rate
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT HOSPITALITY! Very Personal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We loved Bijagua from the time we arrived and David welcomed us like we were family. The rooms and bathrooms were great with plety of hot water (use the cold side for hot bc they are reversed by the installer). We felt like we were on our own private vacation here! It's truly a hidden gem. Whenever we left the hotel, David was there to chat and give recommendations for places to eat and things to do. Bijagua was about a 15-20 minute, safe, convenient walk to town with a sidewalk path along the road. A taxi ride is about $3. There is a kitchen/patio out by the pool where you can make coffee, use a stove burner, microwave, etc. There is a supermarket with great prices for food and drinks right next door and two local small restaurants across the street. On clear days you can see the Arenal volcano from the hotel. It is about a $5 taxi ride to the La Fortuna waterfall from Bijagua. I highly recommend this place and believe you get a lot for your money.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for one night and as soon as we arrived, we felt like home. Despite the hotel is standing on the main road, it's really quiet when you get in the backyard.
David found us a last minute wonderfull horseback riding to an impresive cataract and he also gave us to taste bananas from his garden. We had the chance to see the local festival at the village. Even if the volcano stayed hidden in the cloud and we had rain all long, we spent a wonderful time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place was fabulous. David truly went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He was friendly and totally flexible with us. This place has a great view of Arenal volcano, clean rooms, a great pool and fabulous value. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to the La Fortuna area. One of the best places we stayed in all of Costa Rica

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 8 day trip to Costa Rica this March. It was our first accommodation in the country. While the volcano is what brought us to LaFortuna we couldn't see it at all for the low clouds and rain. That being said, the hotel was perfect and David (manager/owner) was amazing.
The hotel is not right in town but walking distance if you chose to. It has a very tropical, rainforest vibe to it and a cute little pool (although it was too cold to swim). David was super sweet and helpful. He booked all our excursions - Canyoning, Zip lining, Baldi hot springs and also recommended we take a swim at the waterfall. All great suggestions.
The room we stayed in had a balcony facing the pool, a fridge, 2 double queen and full bathroom. They have an outdoor covered kitchen area where you can prepare coffee or breakfast. There is a supermarket right beside the hotel if you need anything.
Very cute and quaint.
I would highly recommend to stay here while visiting LaFortuna and the Arenal area.
PS- I only rate the sleep quality average because there is a rooster next door that must be blind. It crows every hour during the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

It was great nice and cozy just what you needed after a crazy adventure day
We didn't to see mountain as rained and clouds the whole time ...
Mamma and David was amazing they helped us with anything we needed would forsure stay there when we go back
Elise and Liz

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on February 20th, 2013. We were very impressed with all aspects of this hotel. Location, rooms, cleanliness, value and particularly the service, are all excellent. The grounds are well maintained and the pool and other common areas are very nice. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in La Fortuna!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After only one night's stay, I wish I would not have had a cancellation penalty for my other Arenal hotel. Location, price, and service were top notch here.
I wish I had seen reviews talking more location detail in previous reviews as this would helped plan better, so I hope this helps you.
Location - Only about 2km away from Ecoglides ziplining and Baldi Hot Springs, close to La Fortuna Waterfall, and about a $4 cab ride from La Fortuna (prob a 10-15 walk but there's not really street lights/a safe sidewalk). We actually did the Skytrek, Cerro Chato trail, then La Fortuna Waterfall (not recommended for the avg person, as this was a ridiculously physically exhausting day and thus we can not confirm the supposedly 10-15min walk time from waterfall to hotel, but it was again about a $4 cab ride).,

David was WONDERFUL in offering his planning help and organizing our activities/transportation. Even though we only stayed one night, he offered his help to do the same for the rest of our trip, and I did reach out to him again about transportation. Somehow, it seems he has a slightly better rate for Interbus than what we found otherwise (~ $4 cheaper).
The room itself was nice, not fancy or anything, but being so close to numerous activities, if you plan to spend minimal time in your room, this is more than fine. There were some ants in the bathroom since the window screen was open, but we didn't have a major issue in the bedroom itself. I'm used to sleeping on an old hard bed at home, so this actually felt fine, but I could see those used to luxury mattresses not liking it. No breakfast, but there are two very simple places for breakfast across the street (somewhat expensive for what you get, but still only about $6 pp). Also, yes, it looked touristy when we pulled up, but once we were inside, it was quite different (in a good way).

Overall, I highly recommend Hotel Bijagua, esp if you plan on filling your day with activities and want/need some guidance. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bijagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijagua

Also Known As:
Hotel Bijagua Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 1 1/2 km La Fortuna Center Hwy 142 | Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy family hotel offers the perfect combination of personalized service and comfort in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica.We have 7 rooms equipped with different features to satisfy all your needs. In addition, it is perfectly located near the spring waters and Arenal Lake so you can live the most unforgettable times.You are going to enjoy the most spectacular view of Arenal volcano which amazes and thrills whoever looks at it. It is just the powerful grandness of nature.gps:10.46852,-84.66245Besides, you will have the chance to choose from our diverse list of tours in our tour office located in our lobby. Nature lovers will know that Hotel Bijagua is the best choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bijagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bijagua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.