We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bijagua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bijagua to your Saves list
Hotel Bijagua
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 1/2 km La Fortuna Center Hwy 142 | Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 wonderful nights on the first leg of our 8 day trip to Costa Rica. We got a second floor room as recommended by other TA reviewers and were not disappointed. Cecilia, Jorge and Alvarro were extraordinarily welcoming and helpful as others have noted. Cecilia's daughter and her family were there visiting for Semana Santa so we got to meet the extended family and grandkids. As we returned to the hotel one night Cecilia met us with a plate of warm fruit empanadas, cooked for their family's Semana Santa celebration! The rooms were clean, the beds very comfortable, the air-conditioning appreciated and the view of the Arenal volcano terriffic! The shared kitchen area was a welcome addition and it's use made easy by the adjacent grocery store. A small restaurant serving "tipical" Tico food has opened up at a hotel directly across the street and accepts the breakfast vouchers provided by the Bijagua. The family plans to add two more rooms to this 6 room facility and were working on a new BBQ area while we were there. While there are much grander and fancier places to stay in the Arenal area, this small family-run hotel suited our interests and budget perfectly and we would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: As others have said, ask for a second floor room for the best views of the volcano. Also, the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

I don't write on tripadvisor as much as i should but this hotel is real gem. We booked for five nights but as we enjoyed it so much we tried to extend our stay. Unfortunately, but not surprisingly, it was booked up.
The hotel is clean, with a nice pool and beautiful gardens. The owners cecillia, jorge and alvarro, are lovely people - really genuine and so helpful. It's also a really convenient location as there is a good supermarket next door and plenty of restaurants nearby.
such a good hotel that I had to write this review!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here over New Year 2011/2012 and had a really lovely time.

Pros
The family were so pleasant and helpful and even asked us to celebrate the New Year with them.
You have a fantastic view of the volcano if it is clear.
Location is very convenient right next to a super market with all the equipment you need in the hotel to cook.
The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are nice although quite basic.
The breakfast is huge and delicious although you do have to drive into town to eat it as it is served in a restaurant

Cons
I would recommend you have a car as it is a bit of a distance out of town and I would rather not walk along the road in the evening in the dark.

What to do while you're there:
Hanging Bridges walk - really brilliant and just as good as the walks in Monteverde
Lava trail walk - good but sadly no actual red hot lava these days, the guides are really knowledgeavle though and show you how to spot wildlife when you are out walking on your own
Don Rufino restaurant - pricey but delicious
Tabacon spa - It is beautiful and a day spent there is so relaxing. The food wasn't that great though and they have only have 14 sun loungers for the 200 people who can access the pools. Get there early to get one!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Bijagua for three nights and couldn't have chosen a better place. With prime views to Arenal Volcano, a pleasantly cool swimming pool, self-catering kitchen facilities if you want a break from the restaurants and above all else, fantastic and helpful hosts, this is the place to stay when in La Fortuna. For breakfast they drove us to a nearby place that dished up an absolutely fantastic breakfast feast, which was included in the price.

If you come by car you can park it virtually outside your room, rooms are clean with spacious bathrooms. When we left Jorge even gave us a lift to the airport, which we by no means expected. Should we ever head back to La Fortuna, we know where we'll stay.

Thank you again so much Jorge, Cecilia and all the family, you were fantastic!

Room Tip: We've had one of the upstairs rooms with brilliant views of Arenal Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

excellent value for money. Could not get a better view of the volcano! Swimming pool was great, the BBQ area and fridge facilities were fab, with the supermarket next door it was ideal to do a BBQ and salad. The family are so helpful and friendly it was a home from home. The rooms spot less. A very pretty garden feels like your own little oasis. They don't do breakfast at the hotel but give you a voucher for a restaurant down the road and as we hadn't hired a car they gave us a lift there!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony facing the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

For the price, this place is exceptional! Very clean and comfortable. We had sucha nice view of the volcano. The owners treated us like family. Right next to it is a supermarket and some restaurants. Very convenient! Loved this place. Refer to Angela C's review. She described this place perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My friends and I were traveling on a Budget just last week for our first visit to Costa Rica. We were impressed by the price we paid our rooms were lovely, nicely furnished, with a balcony overlooking the Arenal Volcano. It was just lovely. Since it was off season, we had the swimming pool to ourselves (the water was surprisingly warm and comfy even in the rainy cool climate we found ourselves in that day!)

And Ceclia and her hubby (the owners) were both so gracious and very kind to us. It felt like we were welcomed family members. They made us Gallo Pinto (home made Costa Rica breakfast) with fressh coffee and tea and fruit one morning when were trying to head out super early for one of our adventures. They knew we only bought cereal and milk from the local grocery the night before as her quick fix, and were so nice to us. We stayed there for 3 nights and when it was time to leave we were so sad to go. Our stay ended with lots of warm hugs and memorable pictures.

Definite recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bijagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijagua

Address: 1 1/2 km La Fortuna Center Hwy 142 | Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bijagua 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy family hotel offers the perfect combination of personalized service and comfort in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica.We have 7 rooms equipped with different features to satisfy all your needs. In addition, it is perfectly located near the spring waters and Arenal Lake so you can live the most unforgettable times.You are going to enjoy the most spectacular view of Arenal volcano which amazes and thrills whoever looks at it. It is just the powerful grandness of nature.gps:10.46852,-84.66245Besides, you will have the chance to choose from our diverse list of tours in our tour office located in our lobby. Nature lovers will know that Hotel Bijagua is the best choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bijagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bijagua Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bijagua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.