We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open rooms so mosquito s can fly in” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Amistad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Amistad to your Saves list
Hotel La Amistad
Avenida Central | La Fortuna, San Carlos, Costa Rica,, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Open rooms so mosquito s can fly in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great value at about $20 for private room with no AC. Very good location too, right on the main street.

However, When I was sleeping, I notice mosquitoes flying in my room. I closed the bathroom door since the window has openings and then noticed that there is NO WINDOW on top of the door! About a 6"x30" opening for bugs to fly in.

Needless to stay, mosquitoes like me. I got 5 bites that one night. No bueno.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at Hotel La Amistad, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, Screens are being added and bug repellent is available next door for those mosquito feeders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Taking into account the price of accomodation in La Fortuna, this hotel is the best option to discover the area paying the right ammount of money. The rooms are basic, but just enough to rest after a long day walking around. The've got hot water and air conditioning. The girl at reception was very kind and helpful.

To be honest, La Fortuna is a very expensive place, it's similar to Disneyland but with higher prices. If you are ready to pay $30 minimum for each activity go for it, if not, just visit another area, it will be cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel L, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Amistad, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello MissLibelula_83,

Thank you for spending part of your vacation with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our establishment. We try to keep the cost of the hotel low so that you may enjoy an extra tour or two.

We appreciate your comment to help us change those little things that can make your stay very enjoyable, we invite you to come back over here will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last 7 years and have seen it go through many changes and managements. They used to have 4 little apartments upstairs but these have been replaced by dorm rooms and a communal kitchen ... and a pool table - which is an unfortunate addition because it sometimes attracts a noisy crowd of locals. However, that said, at $20 a night single, it's a good deal. The rooms are basic but clean and reasonably comfortable. In room WiFi is now available free as is cable TV. There has also been the addition of hammock chairs and rocking chairs so each room has a comfortable outside place to sit and read. The biggest plus of this hotel is location. It is easy walking distance from supermarkets, park, bus station, tourist shops, restaurants, and bank machines. There's a mini-mart right beside the hotel. The "main drag" is well lit and safe to walk in the evenings. The current manager is a great source of information about local tours as well as onward plans. I would suggest, though, that you try to get rooms 8 to 12, which are at the back and removed from the noise of the street and that of the pool table.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 to 12 at the back are well away from the noise of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Amistad, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hello friend

Nice to meet you,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us.

For us it would be a pleasure to have you back here and to share with us in our recreation area, which is located at the top of the hotel.

Also we inform you that we now have a better entertainment area away from the rooms so when a guest wants to sleep or enjoy not having problems with sound.

We appreciate your comment to help us change those little things that can make your stay very enjoyable, we invite you to come back over here will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We arrived in La Fortuna with no reservation over the holiday period. We tried a few places and all were fully booked. Eventually someone suggested Hotel La Amistad and thankfully they had availability. The person managing the reception desk spoke limited english, but we managed to get by ok. The room was quite basic (although it had a TV with HBO!). The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, but it was still funtional. Overall it felt like a bit of motel, but i think considering the price and the location it was good value. They also had the cheapest prices when booking to go to the Baldi Hot Springs (trust me, we compared prices in MANY places).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

After spending a couple of luxurious nights about 20 km from La Fortuna, we decided to spend one cheap night in town before flying out. For $30 total, incl. taxes, we got a room with one double bed and one twin, air conditioning, and a private bathroom in the courtyard. The room itself and the toilet and sink were clean. It's pretty spartan but is a fine place to spend the night. Also, it's conveniently located across from Lava Lounge and just steps to the church in the center, taxi stands, and more. Considering that a private room at Gringo Pete's is $7 - $8 per night and is small, hot, and has somewhat dingy bathrooms, this is a good alternative, particularly for 2 - 3 people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Basic room with bed, desk with no chair, fan, or AC for $10 more, but the floors were clean enough to eat off of. Private bath, private parking, and great location downtown on Avenue Centrál within walking distance of good sodas and restaurants. You can negotiate lower prices for stays longer than a few days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Address: Avenida Central | La Fortuna, San Carlos, Costa Rica,, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Amistad is located in the heart of La Fortune, 125 meters from Central Park, close to all shopping centers, recreational areas and restaurants. Visitors have a choice of private Rooms for up to 4 people and 3 dorm rooms with room for 7 in each. All of the rooms and dorms are clean, quiet and come equipped with private bathroom, WIFI access, hot water, cable TV and 24 hour security(Private rooms with AC available.)A shared kitchen and common area with a pool table is also located on the second floor patio overlooking Fortuna. "NEW" Paradise Adventures Costa Rica has teamed up with Hotel La Amistad to insure visitors are informed about all the exciting adventures and activities available in La Fortuna and throughout Costa Rica. Come stay with us, the Amistad and PACR crew are waiting to fill your vacation with memories and experience you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Amistad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Amistad Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Amistad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.