We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place, great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sierra Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sierra Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sierra Arenal
300m Oeste de la Iglesia Catolica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb place, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Myself and my three friends had an awesome stay here. the staff were exceptionally helpful and prompt in all of their services. rooms were clean, air conditioned, and breakfast was great. location was also good but I guess it's a small town so it's hard not to have that pegged. the hostel next door was also fun to visit, but it's nice not to be a part of the party zone. overall great stay, best in Costa Rica so far!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in La Fortuna and we loved the view outside our room of the volcano (although it did have cloud over the top all the time!) The garden by the hotel is nice and there's lots of lovely birds that you can see whilst eating breakfast. The self service breakfast had bread for toasting, eggs, fruit juice, coffee and tea and fresh fruit which was great. They also let us use the pool next door at the Hostel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here three nights. The hotel is reasonably priced and very clean. You can chose a room on the main floor or one with a balcony. We chose the balcony where we could sit in the rocking chairs and admire the view of the volcano. There's an outdoor kitchen where you can go and prepare your own breakfast. There were even fresh eggs every morning. We're budget travellers and loved the fact that we could also use the kitchen to prepare our supper as well. There's also a fridge and a safe in each room. This hotel was a great find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a ten day vacation in Costa Rica, the first part of our trip was supposed to include only a couple of days at La Fortuna de San Carlos. Through high recomendations from some friends here in California who had already been to this region in Costa Rica, we made reservations in advance for 2 nights at Sierra Arenal. We found this hotel to be an excellent deal for the price charged per night including breakfast, Very clean rooms with all the basics including free WiFi, very quite and relaxing, and a first class view of Volcan Arenal right in front from our balcony.
Since there are so many fun activities and so much to see in this region, most likely you will be away since very early in the morning and returning to town late in the day or at night as we did, and all you need is a nice clean quite room to take a nice warm shower and rest for the next day's activities.
We liked this area of Costa Rica so much, plus the very friendly and courteous treatment by Don Mario, the hotel owner and his family, and the very reasonable rates, that we extended our stay to six days.
This hotel has 2 open kitchens and some picnic tables and benches, Don Mario stocks the kitchens very early in the morning (by 6:00 AM) with all you will need for a good basic breakfast you prepare yourself as you like, he proives plenty of the best tasting hot coffe we had in Costa Rica,
No overly priced thrills and frills here, just excellent hospitality, cleanliness, service, and probably some of the best rates in town if not the best for what you get.

Highly recommend it,

Javier D.

Room Tip: This hotel has two buildings, Check for room availability on the second floor of building at far en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place would be great if it was a bit further from the main road through town. It has an amazing view of the volcano, powerful A/C and good hot water. The rooms are average motel decor but the balconies are outstanding so you can sit and take in the view. My gripe with the place is like most Central American budget hotels the walls are very thin. Trucks drive by on the road outside all night and it's VERY loud. I wore earplugs while sleeping and was still woken up each night by noisy trucks and dirt bikes several times. You can also hear every word of the neighbor's TV through the wall. Other than that it's a great place and the owners are very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Mario, Andrea, and family run a nice hotel. Located at the edge of town, the hotel is an easy walk to La Fortuna's restaurants and shops. Our room was upgraded to an upstairs room with a balcony, from which we had a nice view of the volcano. It was spectacular. The room itself was comfortable with two full-size beds, a refrigerator, a safe and a/c. The bathroom had a nice shower, which is always appreciated. When the air conditioner in our room had mechanical troubles, Mario immediately moved us to another (larger) room.

Breakfast was cereal, toast, and fruit in the open air kitchen. There we got to socialize with the other guests. While we were grateful to have complimentary breakfast and access to a kitchen, the kitchen area was at times not as clean as hoped.

Mario and Andrea were fantastic at helping us arrange activities. They intuitively knew how to guide us based on our level of adventure, and their prices were fair.

Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room further from the street to avoid traffic noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Downtown La Fortuna was noisy, so I ventured out and found this hotel, just a 5 min. walk from the center. I paid $25 per night for a room with great A/C, fridge, safe, comfy bed, hot shower (except for once) and TV. I took a back room with no view of the volcano, but for $5 more you can have a balcony with a view. Breakfast was included (do it yourself) but all the food was there - fruit, freshly brewed coffee, juice, cereal, milk, bread, butter, jam and eggs (you cook yourself). Internet was also included and there were 3 computers to use. Staff was family owned and the younger ones spoke English and were very helpful and very friendly. Even the dogs and the kitten were sweet! Can't say enough good things about this hotel. I stayed 5 nights and felt very comfortable there as a solo traveler.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sierra Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Arenal

Address: 300m Oeste de la Iglesia Catolica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sierra Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sierra Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sierra Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.