We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see wildlife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecocentro Danaus

Ecocentro Danaus
2 km. Sur del centro de la Fortuna | Camino al Tanque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 7019
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small private Natural Reserve that takes care of a secundary forest in natural reneration. iT counts with a 600mts trail along the park. Around the facility you will find sloths (2 and 3 toes) a pretty big diversity of birds (Aprox.170spp)Butterfly garden, where you breed close to 20 different species. The frogs are very common, but mostly at night, in the day the msot active one is the blue jeans frog. It also has a small natural lake where Iguanas, Boat billed Herons and Caimans interact together. Besides wildlife, the Ecocentro Danaus supports the Maleku's Indigenous by providing a small facility where they can teach and exhibit their art ( Buying their art is optional )
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to see wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great little park. The butterfly exhibit was great, seeing caimen swimming around was awesome. A must do for a great price. The Maleku art was great and reasonably priced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit and comments, have a great day!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    80
    19
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fun little tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped in here on our way out of the Arenal region and were glad that we did. The guide was very friendly and informative. We got to see a butterfly emerging from a chrysalis and opening its wings for the first time. We also saw some caymen, 3 sloths (2 adults and 1 super adorable baby), a bunch of lizards, several blue jean poison dart frogs, many insects, an agouti and a collection of birds. We stopped in one area to listen to a short cultral presentation from a man who is part of the indigenous Maleku group. He had a lot of really neat artwork for sale which I regret not buying. The main gift shop was reasonably priced and I purchased a framed set of butterflies and some locally made earrings. Overall, the property is pretty small but nicely maintained with a variety of plants and animals to make your time worth the stop. I enjoyed my time here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit. We appreciate a lot your comments and we hope to see you again soon!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must Do in Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My daughters and I stayed 5 days in Arenal. One of the best decisions we made was to visit Danaus. It is a short drive from La Fortuna. It is ridiculously inexpensive and we saw some great rain forest animals and plans. If you are in or near La Fortuna this is a must see. It is on the top if my list in this area. MUST SEE.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much, we appreciate a lot your visit and comments...........!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An interesting 2 hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We saw frogs, 3 sloths, morpho butterflies and a wide selection of flowers. It is well worth the time and short travel distance. A good value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for your visit and for your comments........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Maybe I was expecting a little more, but I found it to be just OK. It's a good option if you want something for small kids, but it was much smaller than I was expecting. We did the tour which was fine, but if you've done other tours while in CR it may not be adding that much to the experience. We did see some animals that we didn't see anywhere else like caymans and the red eyed tree frog. It's a quick taxi ride from town if you don't have a car.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit.............!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecocentro Danaus also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecocentro Danaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecocentro Danaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.