We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to see lots of animals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecocentro Danaus

Ecocentro Danaus
2 km. Sur del centro de la Fortuna | Camino al Tanque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 7019
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small private Natural Reserve that takes care of a secundary forest in natural reneration. iT counts with a 600mts trail along the park. Around the facility you will find sloths (2 and 3 toes) a pretty big diversity of birds (Aprox.170spp)Butterfly garden, where you breed close to 20 different species. The frogs are very common, but mostly at night, in the day the msot active one is the blue jeans frog. It also has a small natural lake where Iguanas, Boat billed Herons and Caimans interact together. Besides wildlife, the Ecocentro Danaus supports the Maleku's Indigenous by providing a small facility where they can teach and exhibit their art ( Buying their art is optional )
Oradell, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place to see lots of animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a great, easy place to visit right outside of La Fortuna. A lot of visiting the rainforest is experiencing nature and greenery, but you are not always guaranteed to see wild animals all of the time. We saw many, but were told that was rather unusual. So go here. you will see plenty of tree frogs, sloths, we saw adult and juvenile caimans, etc. It's not a zoo, you definitely feel like you are out in nature, but it's a lot of bang for your buck. Of all the places we visited, this felt the most touristy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for your visit and for your comment...........!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    80
    19
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aibonito, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“its a nice expirience and good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The place is dedicated in the persavation of costa rican wild life, gardens are beautiful, i saw alligator in the swap, i saw also a sloth and learn a lot about butterflies. Its a nice expirience, you dont have to walk that much, if your in la fortuna and have some time off dont hesitate. Its a nice place, you will be able to talk to native indians. Theres a suveneir shop(cash only). Free coffe and clean bathroom.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and hope to see you again soon....!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A treasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We saw a sloth with a one day old baby, boat-bill herons on their nest, a snake, lots of birds,butterflies, a basilisk eating a cicada bug, blue jeans frog...There is so much in a small area (no hills) and the people want to help show you what they have.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit...!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sloth up close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I loved this mini hike. Although you don't walk a lot, you see a ton of insects and animals. Elais was a great guide and was able to show me a sloth at the beginning of the hike and she was much closer to the base of the tree than any other sloth! He was knowledgeable about the plant and animal life and was able to answer all the questions I had. The bats might have scared me a little but I would definitely recommend this walk!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your comment and we hope to see you again soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Interesting stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I saw this listed in the guidebook as reader recommended so I thought we would stop and check it out. I am glad we did. We spent a couple of hours here wandering around. We saw lots of wildlife, much more than I expected. It was a good way to spend a couple of stress free hours wandering the paths.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcocentroDanaus, Director Comercial at Ecocentro Danaus, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks you very much for your visit....!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecocentro Danaus also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecocentro Danaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecocentro Danaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.