We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Hostel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Hostel Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Hostel Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel has really nice chill center court yard with a small pool and bar. We really enjoyed staying at the hostel and it wasn't too loud at night. The only problem was that when we arrived the put us in what was totally and overflow room - even though we had made our reservations in October. It would have been fine if they had told us it was only going to be for one night but the reception was not the friendliest. We did eventually get moved to a real room with a window and working shower. My advice is to show up early to make sure that you get a bed in a real room during the busy season.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    80
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
30
78
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll admit my husband and I haven't stayed in hostel in so many years I forgot they did not provide towels! We had to run out for cash so we could pay the $10 deposit for each one. KInda annoying since they gave us a "tour" and didn't remind us about towels.

The grounds are nice, but people from the dorms would sometimes sit in the chairs outside our room and block our way. We had to ask for them to move their feet from the rails!

The only light in the rooms are brash overhead ones, not a single reading lamp in the whole place. AC barely worked, so that was disappointing for the price.

The people working at the front desk were nice and helpful, but we probably wouldn't recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: If you want to use the rocking chairs in front of your room, ask for one away from the dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Felt safe as solo female. They give you a free welcome drink. Staff was helpful but I ended up booking cheaper tours on my own by walking around and asking other tour companies. They have a small pool, bar, and hammocks which are nice. Great location.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not that bad, but since the reviews were so good, I expected something above the average.
The location is great, there's a beautiful yard with hammocks.
I paid for a bed in a 6 bed female dorms, and when I got there there were 10 beds in that room, and it was definitely too small to accommodate so many beds in this windowless room. The good - There are 2 toilets and 2 showers in the 10 bed dorms, also the mattresses are good. The bad - My bed was really close to the toilets, and I would have expected them to place trash bins with cover since in Costa Rica you have to throw the toilet paper in these bins, but the trash bins were with no cover and so, it was pretty ugly sleeping next to the toilets. Also, electricity plugs could be found only in the toilet, there were no hangers in the rooms, no mirrors (not even in the toilets or in the showers) and no safes in the rooms. Hot water stream (when there was hot water) was really low.
I also found the service professional but very impersonal, and the prices they offer in their tourist office are quite expensive and you can find cheaper deals in the tourist agencies in town.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location right in the middle of town with plenty of private rooms. Best common area out of any hostel I've stayed in complete with hammocks, pool, and swim up bar! There was a mixup when we booked our shuttle to San Jose through the hostel, but Jennifer was great in resolving the situation and hooked us up with a free zip lining tour to make up for it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cool hostel right in town with hammocks, pool, wifi, and a free drink with your stay. We met other travelers who were also very friendly, rooms and shared bathrooms were clean.
Beautiful place in Arenal.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is awesome!, located down town and minutes from any attraction. Beautiful garden with hammoks, small pool, snack bar, basic served breakfast or snaks and kitchen for those who wish to prepare their on meals. Crowd predominantly young with some young at heart adults, easy going style. Beautifull Jenniffer who has public relations in her ADN welcomes you with a smile and tours the facility, tuani (cool) Diego is always there to assist you (this guys impacted our stay in a great way). I reserved a private room for me and my two 20's Kids, clean, A/C,TV, WiFi, wooden floor,walls and ceiling, terrace/aile with chairs. Truly great,
I hate to write this and it almost cost one star but c'mon no hot water!, the place is great but shaving or having a shower is to say the least discomforting

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort have the best location and facilities...( dorms and rooms )There are many reasons to visit La Fortuna, Costa Rica, whether your trip brings you here to observe the majestic Arenal Volcano, or to enjoy the pure natural beauty that the area has to offer. Come here to explore or rest and relax surrounded by the silence and mystery of our mountains. Arenal Hostel Resort is a true pioneer of Eco-Tourism in this area. We offer a great place to stay where you will feel at home and meet new people as you embark on the adventure of a lifetime.Arenal Hostel Resort is a place created for you by one of the premier pioneers of tourism development in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Hostel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.