We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Hostel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Hostel Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Hostel Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful staff! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hostel, clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful. The receptionest was amazing!! helping us (a group of 9) book a 2 day white water rafting trip whilst getting discounted price. I didn't eat at the hostel so cannot comment in the food.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    79
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
75
67
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here after staying at this hostels two previous sister hostels in Tamarindo and Monteverde! All the staff throughout all three hostels were exceptional! I was part of a group of 10 and they made us all feel welcome.

We planned numerous trips through the company such as zip lining, bungee jump, jeep safari and white water rafting! In each hostel the staff helped us above and beyond expectations and we wouldn't have booked half the trips if it wasn't for the staff!

Clean rooms, comfy bed and clean kitchen which was great considering all of us were cooking every night! All three hostels we cheap and excellent rates as well considering other prices for beds in Costa Rica!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a real hostel resort!!
I really enjoy my stay here..Rooms are clean and quiet, swimming pool and bar area are just amazing, perfect place to stay for your visit at the volcano Arenal, located in the main street, not far from bus stop and from everything you need (restaurant, shops, markets)
I will recommend this hostel for sure

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We bookes a two night stay at the arenal hostel resort and i would have loved to stay longer! The room was simple and clean, with AC and a tv with HBO. The staff was incredibly friendly! We arrived at noon and when i asked if it was possible to join a tour at 13.00, they inmediately started to call several companies to make inquiries about the availavility. The staff is very willing to help and provide information.


The courtyard of this hostel looks amazing! Palmtrees, hammocks, lights, swimmingpool with a swim up bar with yet again very friendly staff!

Upon arrival we received a voucher for a welcome drink: a very colourfull cocktail! Nice little extra.

The athmosphere was very laid back and i would definetly reccomend this hostel to travelers!

While you're in town: try the safari float and half day volcano tour!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This hostel was really nice, I would recommend. But cold showers (after a long hike in the rain) was quite undesirable & no lockers was a little ordinary

Pros-
Location was right on the Main Street
Get a welcome drink when you arrive
Has a pool, bar & hammocks
Staff were nice enough, spoke decent English
Good security to get in & out of hostel
Bathroom is nice & spacious

Cons-
I stayed in a mixed dorm (don't believe they offer same sex if that bothers you). Room was just 3 bunk beds. Not a side table to put stuff on etc. a little squishy with all backpacks on the ground
Showers were cold.
No lockers available in the rooms

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We chose this hotel based on location and price, We totally agree with previous reviewers that say that the owner JOSE is only after your money, please note that his tours is $5-10 per person more expensive than local tour operators.

The walls are paper thin between the rooms so you can hear all your neighbours conversations, hear nasty sex voices in the next room.
luckily we didn't leave any valuables in the room.

There are plenty of other options for accomodation in La Fortuna - my advise is to continue searching!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Upon our arrival at the Arenal Hostel Resort we were greeted by a very friendly Diego. He immediately got us checked in, and showed us our room. He also eagerly helped us on several other occasions throughout our stay. We really appreciated being able to leave an envelope of valuables in the office safe each day while we were out and about. The common areas and room were both far above par for a hostel in my opinion. Linens are provided (towels upon request), the room was spotless and quite spacious. We had a private room with a private bath- also squeaky clean. A liquid soap dispenser was provided in the shower. The common areas, also very clean, were beautiful and abundant enough to accommodate all guests staying there. Our room had private rocking chairs on our balcony- a feature we took full advantage of in the evenings. The buffet, while not complimentary, was very good, and the gentleman who tended it was so kind and friendly each morning as he greeted you. You can tell he takes great pride in what he does, because he never let even a drop of juice linger on the counter top for long. The hostel also provides a kitchen where you can provide and store your own meals. It also has a bar open all hours, and a small, but immaculately clean pool. There is a night security guard to buzz in latecomers, and ensure that noise from other guests does not get too loud. We had busy days and appreciated the ability to get to sleep with ease each night.

Room Tip: Our private room had a private bathroom with shampoo/soap in shower sheets/pillows on beds, towels u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort have the best location and facilities...( dorms and rooms )There are many reasons to visit La Fortuna, Costa Rica, whether your trip brings you here to observe the majestic Arenal Volcano, or to enjoy the pure natural beauty that the area has to offer. Come here to explore or rest and relax surrounded by the silence and mystery of our mountains. Arenal Hostel Resort is a true pioneer of Eco-Tourism in this area. We offer a great place to stay where you will feel at home and meet new people as you embark on the adventure of a lifetime.Arenal Hostel Resort is a place created for you by one of the premier pioneers of tourism development in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Hostel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.