We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Hostel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Hostel Resort to your Saves list
Arenal Hostel Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good for a Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was my first experience staying in a hostel. The hostel was in a very secure and safe spot with a locked gate. People have to buzz to get in or out. The hostel is located right across from the centre of La Fortuna so it made it very convenient to explore. La Fortuna is very safe during the day and in the evening.

I found the reception/tour desk to be very helpful and knowledgeable. Although slightly more expensive (only by a few bucks though) if you venture out and find tours on your own, I had a good experience with my tour and I heard some horror stories from some people who booked externally. All of the staff I had dealt with was great. Don’t forget to get your welcoming cocktail, it was very delicious! This makes up for not having breakfast included in the price.

I was a solo traveler and I got a private room on the 2nd floor (I had to pay two people). The room was very basic with very little amenities. They had a single soap dispenser in the shower (in my room anyways). The room had a weird alcove with a counter and a sink which I found to be a little bit useless. It would have been handier if there were some bar stools so I could have sat and used the counter. The room was very clean and comfortable although they need to scrub the walls. I met someone ho had a room downstairs and they said my room was much nicer.

It does seem a bit weird when you walk in and hear party beats but it stops around 10:00pm. All the guests when I was there was very considerate even thought the majority of them were very young. Their only party night is on Saturdays but it wouldn’t affect you if you want to sleep early because they don't stay in the hostel. I actually found it very easy to sleep compared to being in the jungle except when I would hear roosters in the distance around 5:30am.

The grounds were well kept although much smaller than the photos make it out to be but I found it to be very cozy. The bar area was a very nice place to hang out and the bartender was very good.

Their breakfast was decent for what you’re paying, especially considering the prices in La Fortuna. I opted to skip the breakfast buffet and instead get a breakfast on their menu. They used the same stuff from the buffet but your eggs would be made to order, the prices were the same.

Besides the lack of amenities you would find in hotels, I found this similar to a hotel experience. For what you’re paying this is a good choice because it was safe, comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    79
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
28
77
70
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite hostel ever! The atmosphere is amazingly relaxing. It has a pool with a swim up bar and the most delicious cocktails. I need to remind myself to take it easy during happy hour tonight as I got a bit carried away last night :) Hammocks hang in the beautiful garden / courtyard which are great for afternoon naps. I'm staying in a private room which is very clean and comfortable - it has air con and a hot shower too. The staff are very friendly and helpful - they've been so great in helping us plan our activities for the week. I wouldn't stay anywhere else as no other hostel will match this little slice of paradise. Totally good value for money too - if you don't stay here you're stupid!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm from San José and decided to spend a weekend in this place and it was great. Good location, nice rooms (I had a private one), nice little pool with a bar, the staff was very kind, especially Roberto, the guy at the bar, and the canadian girl at the front desk. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A wonderful oasis from town. Stunning, relaxing grounds. Amazing staff (Pablo in particular) helped find many excursions. Hammocks, Pool, Bar, Breakfast area. Everything you need and a great place to meet other travelers. I will definitely return when traveling back to the Arenal area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaarup, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great place in middle of La Fortuna - with nice dorms - very nice bar and pool area with friendly and serviceminded staff - they also helped us with lodging at next stop in Monteverde. Only downfall was that when booking tours we were promished a personal tour (group of 11) but ended up crammed together with many more in vans and boats.. so don't promise what you can't keep! And the booked 5 beds in a 6 bed female dorm turned out to be 5 ladies and 1 poor boy!
But otherwise everything works smooth and friendly - I will recommed this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Hostel was great, service was solid. Great location in la fortuna and I'd stay again. They have a nice bar where everyone congregates so good for meeting folks. Prices were fairly reasonable. For a hostel it is really a resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me and my bf stayed here for 40/night for a private room. It was so huge and had a tv, nice bathroom and two beds! We were really impressed it seemed to be more of a hotel like feel. The ground were nice with the hammocks and bar area. It was a perfect location if you wanted to shop around and eat at the local food places. Everything is walking distance from the hostel and the staff were really friendly as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort have the best location and facilities...( dorms and rooms )There are many reasons to visit La Fortuna, Costa Rica, whether your trip brings you here to observe the majestic Arenal Volcano, or to enjoy the pure natural beauty that the area has to offer. Come here to explore or rest and relax surrounded by the silence and mystery of our mountains. Arenal Hostel Resort is a true pioneer of Eco-Tourism in this area. We offer a great place to stay where you will feel at home and meet new people as you embark on the adventure of a lifetime.Arenal Hostel Resort is a place created for you by one of the premier pioneers of tourism development in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Hostel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.