We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best hostel in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Hostel Resort

Save Saved
You added Arenal Hostel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Arenal Hostel Resort
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE best hostel in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Arenal Hostel Resort is, in my opinion, the best hostel in Costa Rica. The staff is extremely helpful, nice, and friendly and the rooms and common areas are kept impeccably clean and beautiful. My friend and I stayed here for five nights and Alonso and Jennifer were so helpful in helping us plan tours, answering our questions, and giving us advice about things to do in La Fortuna. We stayed in the all women six person dorm and it was such a great experience. I highly recommend this hostel as well as visiting La Fortuna/Arenal. AMAZING!!

Room Tip: Private rooms are available, so even if you don't want to stay in a dorm style room, the rates f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    58
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
59
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in a private room in April for 3 nights. The staff where really friendly and helpful. The grounds are excellent and the swim up bar is a real winner. Rooms are basic but clean, they were cleaned every day. The only slight negative was the shower. The water was only warm at certain times and even then it was Luke warm. But all in all worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms were clean, secure and affordable. We were told right at the beginning that the water heaters are heated by the sun, so we knew to strategically time when we took our showers; but it was warm enough in our room for colder shower water to not be a big problem.
The thing I loved most about this place is all of the other services it provides. Laundry, private transportation back to San Jose, accepting credit cards, charging credit cards in dollars instead of colones, being helpful on the phone, and most importantly, the tour/activity planning services.

Jungleman hooked up tours and activities with a lot of advice from experience, such as "don't go to the safari today, wait for tomorrow when the sun comes out, that is when the caimans come out" and "zip line is good on foggy/drizzly days". His pricing was good (at least it was a lot better than the offers we found in San Jose), he was always right, and would throw in free services, such as transportation to places that didn't require tours. The bar/restaurant provided a delicious menu that cost as little as sodas around the area (the breakfast buffet was $5 if you told them you wanted in the night before), drinks were buy 1 get 1 free during happy hour at the bar, and karaoke provided free shots per song you sang.

I highly recommend this place, at least for groups of young travelers on a budget. The karaoke was probably not good for people trying to sleep early, but everything ended by 10PM, so we could still get enough sleep for our morning adventure the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I never expected Arenal Hostel Resort to look like it did. First, you walk down a very well lit and rainforest themed alley way. Then it opens up to a beautiful garden with trees, wonderfully made wooden tables and chairs, a swim up pool bar, and full kitchen. I was amazed by the service. This does not feel like a hostel, but like a very nice hotel. The rooms are wonderful, cozy and spacious. They even fold the towels all fancy on the bed everyday! I would definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Arenal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was pretty fun rubbing it in people's faces how much we paid for this hostel resort compared to their crazy expensive resort or hotel, lol. This place was a beautiful hostel and a great deal!! We loved the whole communal area. It has a nice pool with a swim up bar, good food, nice beds, a/c in the dorm, great wifi, and incredibly helpful staff!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time staying at Arenal Hostel resort. My room was very spacious with two separate beds and an AC. Each room has a private bathroom and shower. They also provide towels, which was a nice addition. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have now stayed at this hostel for 2 trips to La Fortuna and you can't find a better deal. There's always great people to meet, and the location is perfect, I love the pool and the hammocks, the rooms are comfortable. The hostel staff is amazing, helping me book multiple activities, and transportation to Tamarindo - very patient always answering all of my endless questions. The bartender Roberto is super friendly, making it feel like you've known him forever and making everyone comfortable. The only problem i had while there, was no hot water :( However, I would (and have) recommended this hostel to people going to this area. Also, the pancakes are good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Specialty lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort have the best location and facilities...( dorms and rooms )There are many reasons to visit La Fortuna, Costa Rica, whether your trip brings you here to observe the majestic Arenal Volcano, or to enjoy the pure natural beauty that the area has to offer. Come here to explore or rest and relax surrounded by the silence and mystery of our mountains. Arenal Hostel Resort is a true pioneer of Eco-Tourism in this area. We offer a great place to stay where you will feel at home and meet new people as you embark on the adventure of a lifetime.Arenal Hostel Resort is a place created for you by one of the premier pioneers of tourism development in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Hostel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.