We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Hostel Resort

Save Saved
You added Arenal Hostel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The good:
We left a competing hostel and came here. Right when we walked in, it felt relaxing. Free welcome drink from the best hostel bartender I have ever seen. Free BBQ for the guests on the 2nd night, complete with live music. Nice pool, which was maintained daily. Friendly and very accommodating staff. Nice common area... This is what a hostel should be!

The bad:
Nothing I can think of...

Bottom line:
Best hostel in the area!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    72
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
69
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sorry to say but I did not enjoy my night here at all.The staff were rude,the hostel was dirty(esp the dorm room),not a good place to meet other travellers at all,bad experience overall.Stay elsewhere if in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortunaAssistence, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Hostel Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello we have allready contacted trip advisor , because we are sure this person never stayed with us and maybe has us confused with another place. We take great pride in keeping everything in tip top shape. And our staff is allways helpfull and polite to all of our guest..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The personalized service of a hotel coupled with the collegiate environment of a hostel, Arenal definitely surpassed all of our expectations. Jesse and his staff made our visit a memorable one. From the free welcome drink to the personalized recommendations (restaurants, activities, etc.) we had an amazing time in La Fortuna and ultimately decided to stay a night longer b/c of our great host. Whether backpacking (like us) or not, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Jessie the owner will make you feel welcome when you arrive by giving you a free drink. A nice cocktail but after my travel I would have proffered a beer. But... First world problems.
Rooms were spotless with all modern comforts. There's a pool, a bar and hammocks. What more do you need.
Had a great time there.

Room Tip: Wifi at the back isn't great. Try get a room facing the inside if this bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a good stay here, they gave us a free cocktail on arrival and even ferried everyone in minivans to a volcanic spring nearby for a half hour swim in the dark which was great fun!

The room was clean, good working air con and the staff were friendly. We had an issue with an animal running around in the roof above but they were more than accommodating and offered to move us to another room, it was our last night so we didn't bother.

Free wifi and super location and relatively cheap. No brainer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the sister hostel on the next block but spent all our time at the main one with the pool/bar and hammocks. Just pick up a six-pack of Bavaria Dark at the Super Mercado around the block and your good to chill. Alonzo rocks! Great info and all staff are friendly very helpfull. The pizza joint next door called Latina Pizza (pepperoini & Jalapeño) was better than most in the states! Was one of the best Hostel experiences in Costa Rica....Seriously!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Private rooms have a tv but I didn't turn it on. All rooms have private bathrooms but obviously if you're in a dorm youll share with others. Private room for four was $56 and dorms were $14. Food at the bar was fine and pretty cheap. Free wifi and also a computer available although it was broken when I stayed. I just used the wifi which was very fast. We arranged all our tours through the hostel and they were great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Main street, La Fortuna | South side of catholic church in La fortuna de San Carlos Alajuela Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Specialty lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort have the best location and facilities...( dorms and rooms )There are many reasons to visit La Fortuna, Costa Rica, whether your trip brings you here to observe the majestic Arenal Volcano, or to enjoy the pure natural beauty that the area has to offer. Come here to explore or rest and relax surrounded by the silence and mystery of our mountains. Arenal Hostel Resort is a true pioneer of Eco-Tourism in this area. We offer a great place to stay where you will feel at home and meet new people as you embark on the adventure of a lifetime.Arenal Hostel Resort is a place created for you by one of the premier pioneers of tourism development in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Hostel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.