We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarapiqui Whiter Rafting with Victor, Aguas Bravas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aguas Bravas Rafting Company

Aguas Bravas Rafting Company
El Tanque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
506-2292-2072
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1992, Aguas Bravas has been Costa Rica's Whitewater Professionals. We operate rafting and jungle safari tours in more rivers throughout the country than any other comapny, and are the only adventure company that can boast a perfect safety record! 100% Safe! With us, you are not a number - but part of our family!Be sure to choose Aguas Bravas, the only company hat offers Full Adventure with a Taste of Culture!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sarapiqui Whiter Rafting with Victor, Aguas Bravas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We are a family of 6, with parents in mid fifties and adult kids. We were most fortunate to have an experience of a lifetime, white water rafting in the Sarapiqui river, Costa Rica with guide Victor and Photographer Pablo, who were absolutely fantastic. Victor , certainly lived upto his reputation as the best white water rafter in Costa Rica and went out of his way to make us comfortable and without any anxiety. Pablo's photography was awesome and each photograph was a memorable goldmine. I would highly recommend them and looking forward to progressing to level 4/5 white waters in the future with Victor.
Chandru Jain, MD

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguasBravasCR, Manager at Aguas Bravas Rafting Company, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Our guys work hard to be great at what they do, so glad you enjoyed your wonderful white rafting trip with us!

We certainly look forward to having you back to take on even greater rivers!

Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    9
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“fishing and snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a great trip with Mauricio while on Spring Break. We started with some inshore fishing and caught 24 Red Snapper which Maricio cleaned and we took to a local restaurant and they cooked them for lunch. Then we went to a beautiful beach for snorkeling and relaxing. I would highly recommend this for families and groups with kids ( we had 3 kids ages 11,11, and 9).

Visited March 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguasBravasCR, Manager at Aguas Bravas Rafting Company, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for your review Suzy...but i think there is a small confusion. We are the company that did your rafting tour, from La Fortuna... not your beach fishing and snorkeling...would have loved to have seen your review of us. but glad you had a great time in Costa Rica and many wonderful experiences throughout the country!

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pura Vita!!! Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Enjoyable and safe. Our experience with this company was wonderful. The guides clearly considered our safety as a priority, but also wanted us to have a great time. They were informative regarding straight up rafting, but also about animal life, geology, and history. These guys are pros.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguasBravasCR, Gerente at Aguas Bravas Rafting Company, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks for your review of our compan, we are honored by your kind words. We work hard to be sure our guides are well trained, to offer you much more than just great rafting, but also that they can share a bit of Costa Rica, flora, fauna, history, lifestyle, and more with you. We want ach guest to fall in love with Costa Rica while visiting with us, take a pice of CR home in their hearts... and of course come back again. We are glad you value this added value that our awesome guides provide!

We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time in Costa Rica and the highlight of our trip was the White Water Rafting tour! The guides were safety conscious, experienced, knowledgeable and super fun! Our guide showed us many plants and animals, and explained all about them in detail when we were on slow bits of the river. He gave terrific instructions when we were on the fast bits. We felt super safe and very comfortable having our 12 yr old along (He had a blast!!). We are definately looking forward to our next trip to Costa Rica and another Aguas Bravas rafting tour!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguasBravasCR, Gerente at Aguas Bravas Rafting Company, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Wonderful we are definately looking forward to your next trip with us as well. It was a pleasure to serve your family, and maybe nmext time its time to conquer even greater rapids in our Class 4 section...recommended for people of 12+ years with experience!

We are glad your expectations were met and exceeded by our team, thanks for taking the time to share about your quality, small group tour with other travellers.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Fun, Great Guides, Complete Safety and Utmost Professionalism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

When I called Aguas Bravas, I was looking for something that my teens would enjoy that I wouldn't find to scary. Also wanted to see some of the wildlife and was debating between a float safari or white water rafting. Aguas Bravas was able to offer me a combination of the two which was a trip on the Sarapiqui river which was about an hour and 15 minute drive from La Fortuna.

When I called and spoke with Chantel, she spoke perfect English and was able to let me know what the different options were. She arranged a private tour for just the 4 of us. The guides were fantastic, and found lots of wildlife. I was somewhat skeptical climbing down a seemingly very steep path on the way to the raft. The guide made it very easy for me and were concerned that I would be safe, and feel safe. The raft trip was fantastic. I made it clear that I didn't want to fall out, and the guides made certain that I never even came close to feeling like I'd fall out of the raft. There was a guide in a kayak whose sole purpose was to help if there were any issues of falling out of the boat. He too was fun, knowledgeable and very engaging. He also took lots of great photos and used our camera so we didn't have to pay any extra fees for the photos.


There was some adrenaline, but we never really were unsafe at any time. We had a choice of lunch before or after the trip. This was also very local and delicious. The restaurant was on the banks of the river with birds singing and beautiful views.

I would recommend highly using this company. It doesn't get any better in terms of experiences, no additional fees for extras, caring, concerned folks and a great lunch or dinner too.

Visited March 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AguasBravasCR, Manager at Aguas Bravas Rafting Company, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks Randi for the review. It was a pleasure to serve you and your family and I am thrilled that you found the perfect balance of adrenaline, nature and safety with us. I knew we had just what you were looking for. So glad we were able to work the times out and get you your private tour.

We look forward to having you back again soon!


Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aguas Bravas Rafting Company also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Aguas Bravas Rafting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aguas Bravas Rafting Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.