We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Eco Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Eco Arenal to your Saves list
Villas Eco Arenal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 kms al norte del Banco Nacional, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I was traveling through Costa Rica and we ended up in Arenal. When we first rolled up to Eco Villas Arenal, the first thing i noticed was the obvious beauty of the landscape, filled with lime and palm trees, and a clear view of the breathtaking Arenal Volcano. Behind this façade, however, lies a row of dingy, poorly lit, dirty villas. The room that we stayed in, which, surprisingly, included a kitchenette, was the biggest let down of the whole week in Costa Rica. I put my bag down next to the bed, and came back from the bathroom and a palmetto bug (cockroach) seemed to be sniffing it. The sheets were probably about thread count 3 and the room had barely any lighting at all. However, This room did serve its purpose, as we, and i hope you will, spent as much time doing things out of the room as possible, and only used the room for sleep (not four lounging in).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

These Villas are fantastic. There is heaps of wildlife within the beautiful grounds including two large owls, sloths, squirrels, frogs (including the blue Jean frog), hummingbirds, herons and many more. The rooms are relatively spacious and the showers are hot. Breakfasts tended to be scrambled eggs, ham, rice and beans and bread. The coffee was pretty good. Be warned that these villas are just outside town so you will need transport to and from town but the taxi only costs about 2000 C each way. The beautifil wildlife and pool makes up for that. All in all, a very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel itself is actually outside of downtown down a dirt road. But once you drive on to the grounds it is very appealing and secluded. Actually we preferred this because the town was a little loud and rowdy for our tastes.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging our tours and activities in the area. The room itself was a little basic but clean. If your'e looking for big screen TVs or phones maybe look somewhere else. We were content to sit on the porch of our room and watch the thunderstorms and listen to the sounds of the jungle instead!

The included breakfast on a covered outdoor patio was good but I had to fight the wasps to get to the pancake syrup! The food was tasty though and I never became ill so it was well prepared.

When we return we will stay again and will heartily recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemead, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I was just there last week with my six and 12 year old. The hotel is about one mile from La Fortuna on an unpaved road. Very quiet abd tranquil setting. The front office greeted us with genuine enthusiasm and warmth. She was very helpful and just a joy. The security guard on duty from sun down to sun up was very kind. We met him our first evening as we were swimming in the pool. He helped us identify some of the nocturnal animals and went out of his way to catch some cicadas, point out some fireflies and toads. HE told us where we could find iguanas.
I am a single mom with two kids and I felt very safe.

The rooms were very clean, immaculate. The rooms were comfy. The breakfast was served in the garden patio and the staff was also very friendly while serving us.

I look forward to coming badk soon.

Room Tip: Small enough that all rooms are good, facing poo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in February 2011 and enjoyed every minute of our time at the hotel. The staff, Henry and Aimy, speak excellent English and were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area. The hotel located 5 minutes ride outside the town is quiet, has beautiful grounds with a pool, soccer area, basketball court and the reasonable rate includes breakfast. Henry had lots of suggestions re touring the country and the area and would call us a cab with a driver who spoke English which was great. Highly recommend and would stay there again.
Elaine and Richard, Canada

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel is on a good location with a good view of the vulcano. The rooms (and 2 double beds) are big enough (including fridge) and the bathroom is also good enough. It is really nice to swim in the pool with a view on the vulcano. For I know there was no restaurant and the centre of the town is too far to walk (although some people can handle it). We were there with a tour so we were driven to the restaurant and the excursions. The road to town can be very dark in the night, and it might not be safe to walk there in the evening. Beware of that.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Eco Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Eco Arenal

Address: 2 kms al norte del Banco Nacional, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Eco Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Eco Arenal is a mountain Eco hotel, designed especially for rest. It is 2 miles north of Fortune and you reach it by a stone road. It has satellite TV with 5 channels. The emphasis is on their facilities and green areas close to nature as can be seen many types of birds, sloths, frogs and a huge amount of types of flowers and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villas Eco Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Eco Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Eco Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.