We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge restaurant with many menu choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Pizzeria La parada

Restaurante Pizzeria La parada
4417 la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 9119
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza, Fast Food, Pasta, Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Huge restaurant with many menu choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

La Parada is not fine dining. It offers basic Costa Rican food for a decent price. I probably gets its brisk business simply from it's visibility in town. It's a huge restaurant located right across from the pretty town square in La Fortuna. I saw a lot of people order pasta, though I don't know that I would go that in a restaurant like this. I stuck to a casado plate with rice and beans, steak, and some sort of tasty tuna pasta salad. My Mom ordered the pork chop casado plate, which wasn't as good as the bistec I had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    138
    43
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No frills restaurant, quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Typical Costa Rican restaurant in the center of La Fortuna. There is a mix of locals and tourists. The service is pretty good, and they offer typical Costa Rican dishes at reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited this restaurant per a recommendation by a local who said that you get a lot of food for a good price. We had the chicken fajitas and arroz con pollo. Both were excellent! And both plates were certainly huge! It's important to note that you pay the bill at the cashier. The establishment was very family friendly. We had heard that they used to be open 24hrs but, at least during low season, we heard this is no longer true. Check it out for a good large meal in town!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Grsaf Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

2 choices buffet which includes. Gallo pinto; a meat selection; salad and a drink for under $5. Unbelievable! Good food.one can also order from an extensive menu. Only drawback: it was sk joy in there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Never will go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Last time I was in the restraunt was approximately 4 years ago when it was more of a local soda. Now with so many tourists going the quality of food has lowered and the prices for what you receive is not worth going. First time I went to this restaurant it had great casados, now it's better to eat somewhere else!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Pizzeria La parada also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Restaurante Pizzeria La parada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Pizzeria La parada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.