We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic great view and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benedictus Steak House

Benedictus Steak House
La Palma de la Fortuna de San Carlos | frente de Hotel Volcano Lodge, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 1912
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Benedictus is settle in a volcano slope with a unique view to the valley of La Palma de la Fortuna and Monterrey.The restaurant its a beautiful wood building surrounded by pasture land and primary forest overlooking the valley.The lamb, cattle, pork and chicken we serve are breaded free range in the farm and we bring the vegetables from Tapezco a little town two hours away from Fortuna, where Mr. Juan Jose Paniagua, a Pioner in the organic agriculture in Costa Rica, produce the best organic vegetables. We are 800 metros away of the main road that link La Fortuna with the Arenal Lake. The gate its just in Front of the Volcano Lodge Hotel.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“romantic great view and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is up a bumpy mountain across from volcano lodge, but is perfectly safe provided your taxi is trustworthy. The food is raised on its own farm\ organic food and wine. Restaurant is like a log cabin at the top of mountain with amazing views / you can see the springs resort all lit up from the restaurant. very classy and sophisticated setting but can wear casual t-shirt and shorts. small place about 6 tables inside, great wine, great food, surf and turf and rib eye were expensive but worth it. service and quality felt a bit americanized but food was still authentic to costa rica. if youre on your honeymoon, you must go here, very romantic. We got 1 bottle of wine, ceviche as app, surf and turf and rib eye and that was $110 plus tip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    66
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This steak house is literally a house located at the top of a long hill off the main road. The view is amazing and the restaurant is quaint, romantic, and welcoming. Just about everything is organic and the cows an chickens are raised right on the property. It is a great place for couples to have a romantic dinner. I would not suggest going there with children.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you want a relaxed evening with excellent food and wine, this is it. This lovely restaurant was across the street from the Volcano Lodge,but we wouldn't recommend walking up the drive! It's quite the challenge! But so worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Would have been a 5 star with a few small changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Ok first off you are in Costa Rica not San Francisco.
What not many of the other reviews are saying is that this restaurant is about a mile drive up a very very bumpy road. You almost feel like you are going to the wrong place .
Then there you arrive at a large dark farmhouse. We would have preferred to come during the day to see the view, as it was dark when we arrived.
My boyfriend and I were the only people except one other table. This could be considered romantic or just a little awkward. It was quiet with just one server and funny music and we didn't have to wait at all.
Ok I won't leave the whole review about things other than the food as it is a restaurant.
BEST STEAK AND SHRIMP OF MY LIFE. I ordered the surf and turf. Very clean and simple preparation with delicious grilled vegetables and roasted potatoes. We split a bottle of wine and it was good. My boyfriend enjoyed his steak and commented It was prepared perfectly.
Feedback for restaurant:
You should give a bit more history of the restaurant and where the meat is from as we were guessing it was butchered very locally.
More lights on the drive up as the road was very poorly lit.
We would consider this an overall good experience and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Should be ranked higher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Back in April, my boyfriend and I vacationed in Costa Rica. This restaurant was, BY FAR, our best dining experience in Costa Rica, and it was also the most beautiful restaurant we visited! Our dinners were amazing, and the service was exceptional--so much so that we returned for lunch the next day. I had a delicious avocado salad--the best I've EVER had! The view is absolutely serene and spectacular. We took several awesome pictures! A memorable dining experience, for sure!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benedictus Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Benedictus Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benedictus Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.