We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benedictus Steak House

Benedictus Steak House
La Palma de la Fortuna de San Carlos | frente de Hotel Volcano Lodge, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 1912
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Benedictus is settle in a volcano slope with a unique view to the valley of La Palma de la Fortuna and Monterrey.The restaurant its a beautiful wood building surrounded by pasture land and primary forest overlooking the valley.The lamb, cattle, pork and chicken we serve are breaded free range in the farm and we bring the vegetables from Tapezco a little town two hours away from Fortuna, where Mr. Juan Jose Paniagua, a Pioner in the organic agriculture in Costa Rica, produce the best organic vegetables. We are 800 metros away of the main road that link La Fortuna with the Arenal Lake. The gate its just in Front of the Volcano Lodge Hotel.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Best service we experienced in all of Costa Rica. Server was extremely humble and attentive. The interior is a cozy cabin. The food was beyond excellent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    73
    26
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Dinner in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading the reviews here and were so glad we went. This restaurant was originally built as a home and then converted to a restaurant later. Because it was a home, that is the feeling you have when you dine there. It is small and intimate and very special. There are only five or 6 tables total, so make a reservation. We ordered steak, my husband the bacon wrapped and I one with peppercorn sauce. My children all ordered carbonara pasta. All of the food was delicious but we will all be dreaming about that bacon wrapped steak for years to come. Being from LA, we've eaten at some amazing steak houses, but this was far and away one of the best steaks I have ever had. Probably because the beef is grass fed and super fresh. Don't worry about the drive, it's not a big deal. If possible go before it gets dark to enjoy the view. Have a wonderful time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Finally something different !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

4x4 a must to deserve to eat at benedictus and enjoy the view. Go early !! Restaurant is a private villa which explains the cosy feeling.
All ingredients come from local organic production (both meat and vegetables). Lamb and fresh vegetables are an excellent replacement for chicken. Dessert was excellent. My lamb was a bit heavy on the rosemary.
This restaurant being relatively new, i'm sure this kind of imperfections will be ironed-out shortly.
Watch this place...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really loved the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A very good choice for our first dinner. The ride there was an adventure that was worth the trip! Fun, bumpy road (4 wheel drive is recommended) to a farm house on the hill. Beautiful view, even at night (although evening would be better). The low lit, minimal table atmosphere was great and the servers were very pleasant. We liked the ceviche and the steaks were good as well. I wish I knew that the steak came with a mushroom sauce, as I thought I was just ordering a Filet, as the menu said. But I later came to find out, that serving filet with a mushroom sauce is standard for Costa Rica. But I much would have preferred a filet with out it. My husband and friend really enjoyed the dessert...some kind of plantain flambé. It's not my best meal ever, but I would still recommend it without a doubt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't panic, it's organic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice drive up a steep winding hill, but worth it, gastronomic views!! Excellent pasta, seafood soup, bread with parsley, olive oil dip. Conscientious Tico owner, organically attuned, they grow much of what they offer up, including much of their own animal products. Not overly pricey, quality food, good atmosphere, old farmhouse high ceiling glass. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benedictus Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Benedictus Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benedictus Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.