We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Benedictus Steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benedictus Steak House

Benedictus Steak House
La Palma de la Fortuna de San Carlos | frente de Hotel Volcano Lodge, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 1912
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Benedictus is settle in a volcano slope with a unique view to the valley of La Palma de la Fortuna and Monterrey.The restaurant its a beautiful wood building surrounded by pasture land and primary forest overlooking the valley.The lamb, cattle, pork and chicken we serve are breaded free range in the farm and we bring the vegetables from Tapezco a little town two hours away from Fortuna, where Mr. Juan Jose Paniagua, a Pioner in the organic agriculture in Costa Rica, produce the best organic vegetables. We are 800 metros away of the main road that link La Fortuna with the Arenal Lake. The gate its just in Front of the Volcano Lodge Hotel.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Benedictus Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We heard about Benedictus from some of our tour guides - liked that it's an organic restaurant. Our hotel Nayara was pretty close to the restaurant (thought could even walk - thankfully we didn't since once you turn into the entrance, it's quite a drive up a very narrow and bumpy road), I got the tilapia with avocado which was good, maybe a bit too much avocado sauce (and I like avocados), my husband and daughter got the filet - which was very good and my son got the Benedictus steak - that was amazing! Also got a very nice bottle of red. Prices were very reasonable for the food. Service was nice, but very slow - took a long time after we sat to get our menus, then to get our order - looked like only two guys working. Once the food and drinks came, it seemed to get better. Well worth the drive up the mountain. Just confirm taxi prices - think $10 before going.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    200
    61
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service and Grass-fed Goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I tried Benedictus Steakhouse in La Fortuna after reading about it here on TripAdvisor and discovering that most of the food is organic and the beef is Grassfed. We totally lucked out and visited on a night when no reservations were required, and had a wonderful evening out. What a gem! Be warned that the 800m drive up the hill is harrowing, especially at night, but it is worth it. The entire building has a rustic charm with panoramic vistas, and because it was an unusually quiet night, our waiter took us out onto the balcony and spent a few moments conversing with us like a friend. Loved that! A little kitchen sits off to the side of our main area, adding to the feel that everything is done fresh.

As for the food, being a health conscious couple, we were really pleased with the quality.The restaurant costs little more than an evening out at a mediocre steakhouse in the States (we spent $65 with two steaks and dessert, yet many dishes were even more affordable), yet offers the advantages of organics and grass-fed food. The typical offering of sliced garlic bread as an appetizer came with freshly made chimichuri sauce, and the green peppercorn steak was 300g of grass-fed tenderness. (Be advised that Costa Ricans degrees of wellness are different from American ones. A medium well steak there is more like a medium-to-medium-rare steak here.) To top off our big night, we ordered the Piña Vulcan for dessert. With a pineapple ring and caramel sauce, it was a nice light way to indulge!

Benedictus is definitely Pura Vida personified!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Benedictus - a true "thanksgiving" song”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

As we sat at the main bar at The Springs Resort, we asked the bartender what the lights were across the way, about a third of the way up the Arenal volcano. William, the bartender and new friend said, "That is Benedictus." We became intrigued and made reservations for the next night.

Our group of six piled into the van for what was to be a pleasantly memorable drive to Benedictus. The entry road makes the surrounding roads seem like a modern freeway. The van shoved and pushed its way up the mountain. We laughed, screamed and cheered all the way. And then we arrived at what is now considered one of our favorite places in the world.

Benedicuts is a home - a house, a courtyard, an outhouse, a small farm. Greeted by some of the most sincere folks I have ever met, we entered the home to find a pool table. Why a pool table? Still not sure, other than the fact that my son disappeared one evening with Oscar (our favorite server in the world!) to play a few games.

There are seven tables (depending upon the configuration), ample space and an unforgettable view of the valley. You truly feel like you are dining in someone's quaint and simple home. There is small open kitchen where they do some basic preparation, keep the wine cool, etc. This is a home kitchen, four burners, upright refrigerator, and cabinets. Charming to die for!

The actual kitchen is across the courtyard. It is staffed by a head chef and four female assistants. They are crammed into this tight, but immaculate space. I ventured into the kitchen our second night in an attempt to thank the staff.

Here is some of what we enjoyed: cerviche various ways, exceptional. Farm raised and fresh killed chicken that was like something none of us have ever enjoyed so much. Fresh pasta with various sauces - all superb. They consider themselves "organic."

The experience was so special due in no small part to Oscar, our server and new friend in Costa Rica. Oscar has the gentle spirit of a monk, and the care and concern of a professional waiter. He cared for us from the moment we arrived until we all hugged and went on our way.

If ever you are in Arenal you must visit this understated, gem of a restaurant. If you do, please let Oscar know that we are counting the days until our next visit to Benedictus.

Best Wishes, Colin

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The view is very nice and restaurant is rustic and homey. The food is just okay. The beef is tender but overly sauced and overly salty. The service is very good and portions are large.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent meal, great prices, excellent service. Fortuna is a great little town..tiny but fun. This restaurant has great value, our meal was under $40.00 for two!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benedictus Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Benedictus Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benedictus Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.