We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Garrapata

Soda Garrapata
700 Meter to the West of the Catholic Church | 700 Mts Oeste de la Iglesia de la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“excelent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

In my opinion the best place near the Fortuna to eat
while its not a luxe place its cheap and the quality of the food is simply awesome
people there are very friendly and locals of the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Alberto was not wrong. Hi Israel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went here after Alberto of the Alberto Horse Riding tour said to go there. He was not wrong. I had shrimp/tenderloin with plaintains. My wife had a mango tilapia and my kids had arroz con pollo. The smoothies were great, beer cold and Israel took care of us and joked with the kids. He also gave my youngest son a horseshoe as a souvenir. Go here....its ride outside down behind the Pali grocery store on the east side of La Fortuna.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“not the best chifrijo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I went to this place only because someone told me the chifrijo was amazing. The chifrijo wasnt amazing, it was just okay. Service was okay and location its not the best. i dont know if ill come back to this place

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Decnt Tico food in La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

La Garrapata - don't be put off by the name! We were recommended the place by a local and although not plush, it is genuine and most importantly the food is good, well priced like the beer and the people friendly. What more can you ask?

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our best meal of the entire trip, hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

After a hike at the volcano, we asked our local guide for a restaurant recommendation. Something off the beaten path, something authentic, something well priced, something local. He steered us to Soda Garrapata, and MAN this was exactly what we were looking for!
On the outskirts of La Fortuna, down a side road, a room fenced in with chain link attached to a house - this 10 tables and a bar was as authentic as it gets. Garrapata (the guy who runs the place) was extremely hospitable, extremely friendly and accommodating and the food was seriously the best of our trip!
I know that a lot of travelers look for restaurants that feel a little familiar and a lot of restaurants cater to tourist taste. If you're willing to step out a bit, THIS place is the real deal and the food was awesome!

The $11 per person (that doesn't include tax, drinks or tip) does include the price of an appetizer.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Garrapata also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Garrapata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Garrapata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.