We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaca Muca Restaurante, Bar & Lounge - CLOSED

Vaca Muca Restaurante, Bar & Lounge
2 km al Oeste de la Iglesia Catolica, rumbo al Volcan Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
24-79-91-86
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Continental, International
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“fun bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

we stopped in for some "Imperaials" and quick bite. Beers were so cold and delicious! Nachos tastey!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Was there tonight with my friend.
Really enjoyed the food.. so tasteful.
The service is excellent and the ambiance is nice.

Overall I would recommand this place to everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in La Fortuna.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was, probably, the best food in La Fortuna. This restaurant serves local as well as some fusion food. The wines are very good. When you are there, order the whole fried fish, and ask to take bones out. So fish will come as a whole piece, but without bones. Amazing. Restaurant wines are good and not too expensive, unlike the Tabacon restaurants. Also you can bring your own wine. There were no cork fee.

Next time, when I will be in La Fortuna area, I will go to eat in Vaca Muca for sure. Great place with very friendly stuff.

I look forward to go back. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A nice find in the toursity area. All items on the menu sounded great. The wait staff was extremely helpful. Ambiance was nice and simple. Our table - great. All dishes are small but there's enough to share amongst two people. The desserts are to die for.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Butterfly Garden next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We didn't actually eat at Vaca Muca. However, we explored the butterfly garden next to it, which appears to be run by the owner of the Vaca Muca. I was impressed with the number of butterflies in this roadside exhibit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaca Muca Restaurante, Bar & Lounge also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaca Muca Restaurante, Bar & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.