We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but the manager ruined our trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Las Palmas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas Las Palmas to your Saves list
Cabinas Las Palmas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but the manager ruined our trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during our honeymoon. The hotel is clean and well priced but only the upstairs rooms have views of the volcano. The salesman, Tony was friendly but his constant talking got tiresome and he got very pushy over booking tours etc - he would find us around the town and start telling us what to do next in the middle of the street. The owner, Franklin, however totally ruined our trip. He was incredibly rude from the moment we arrived and refused to even shake my hand to say hello. We didn't trust him especially when he lost our spare key and was thumping on our door accusing us of stealing it - why did he need a key to our room so badly? In the end we paid our last night but actually moved to Gringo Pete's down the road. We preferred to pay more to be away from the place. The only unfriendly Costa Rican we met on our trip.

Room Tip: In April you will definitely need air con as it is very humid. There is a supermarket next door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We (3 females) stayed there for 3 nights, we got a really nice deal. The room was nice and clean with a fresh smell, not humid. Top scale compared to some of the other places around the block. Frank the owner was really nice and friendly, even gave us a ride to a car rental place and then back to the hotel. Beautiful view of the Arenal volcano right from your door, all we had to do was open the door and enjoy the view. It's in the center of La Fortuna, about one and a half block from the bus stop, one block off the park.

The only thing, or complaint that i can think of was that his wife didn't take well to us single girls around her husband and as result our roon was not clean daily and we basically had to ask for towels and paper toilet. Otherwise, it was one of the cleanest (We cleaned our own room, i asked for a broom and took out the trash) places we stayed on.

Room Tip: Best place to stay at La Fortuna. Best price and prime location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Room was GREAT... only 20 bucks a night for a private room with a private bath and HUGE shower, fans, and TV (didn't use the TV, don't know about the quality). It was clean, not much more you could ask for for the price. HOWEVER, we booked a tour with the manager for $40 a person which he told us would include a hike to see the volcano, hanging bridges, frog night hike, dinner, and hot springs... it ended up being only the hike to the volcano with a less than impressive guide, and a trip to the hot springs. After the manager being around all the time prior to our tour booking, he was nowhere to be found after the tour...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We paid 20$ for a double room in the high season.
The room was fairly clean. the towels- you use your own. there was a TV in the room and hot water in the shower. it's not the place you come to enjoy the hotel- but to go out and travel and save on lodging.
The manager was for me the wick part- he was quite negative- I always felt we bother him, and he wishes all the guests would just disappear..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

El lugar es limpio la gente amable y en una ubicacion excelente frente a un supermercado

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

La fortuna has alot of accomodation options. This motel is not expensive and totally worth it. We took a room for 25$ and we got a basic clean room, normal shower room, towels etc.
The owner Franklin is really a kind man, who can offer you tours for cheap prices. I'm telling you - we compared his prices to other travel agencies and we found that the prices of Franklin are the lowest.
Dont expect too much from the room (the be was abit hard) but for that price its really ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Las Palmas is nicely located - take the street that runs behind the church to south from the main street, walk a block and you'll find it from the right side. The rooms were very clean, and at least some of the second floor rooms (like ours) have an excellent view over the Arenal Volcano. The room was with private bath (hot water) and a fan, and costed $20 US per night. In my understanding the rooms on the first floor are cheaper.

Hotel has WiFi access and a few computers that can be used for free for half an hour, although nobody really seemed to be very interested in how long one uses them. Hotel is also a tour agency that offered many activities cheaper than the ones you find from the central park surroundings. E.g. our volcano trip was not just a car ride to the volcano bridge (that's where many go, and it's quite far from the volcano) but instead a good hike up the hill in the jungle to an observation point.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Las Palmas

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Las Palmas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.