We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book the room, not the tours!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Las Palmas

Save Saved
You added Cabinas Las Palmas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Las Palmas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Book the room, not the tours!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Room was GREAT... only 20 bucks a night for a private room with a private bath and HUGE shower, fans, and TV (didn't use the TV, don't know about the quality). It was clean, not much more you could ask for for the price. HOWEVER, we booked a tour with the manager for $40 a person which he told us would include a hike to see the volcano, hanging bridges, frog night hike, dinner, and hot springs... it ended up being only the hike to the volcano with a less than impressive guide, and a trip to the hot springs. After the manager being around all the time prior to our tour booking, he was nowhere to be found after the tour...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We paid 20$ for a double room in the high season.
The room was fairly clean. the towels- you use your own. there was a TV in the room and hot water in the shower. it's not the place you come to enjoy the hotel- but to go out and travel and save on lodging.
The manager was for me the wick part- he was quite negative- I always felt we bother him, and he wishes all the guests would just disappear..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

El lugar es limpio la gente amable y en una ubicacion excelente frente a un supermercado

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

La fortuna has alot of accomodation options. This motel is not expensive and totally worth it. We took a room for 25$ and we got a basic clean room, normal shower room, towels etc.
The owner Franklin is really a kind man, who can offer you tours for cheap prices. I'm telling you - we compared his prices to other travel agencies and we found that the prices of Franklin are the lowest.
Dont expect too much from the room (the be was abit hard) but for that price its really ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Las Palmas is nicely located - take the street that runs behind the church to south from the main street, walk a block and you'll find it from the right side. The rooms were very clean, and at least some of the second floor rooms (like ours) have an excellent view over the Arenal Volcano. The room was with private bath (hot water) and a fan, and costed $20 US per night. In my understanding the rooms on the first floor are cheaper.

Hotel has WiFi access and a few computers that can be used for free for half an hour, although nobody really seemed to be very interested in how long one uses them. Hotel is also a tour agency that offered many activities cheaper than the ones you find from the central park surroundings. E.g. our volcano trip was not just a car ride to the volcano bridge (that's where many go, and it's quite far from the volcano) but instead a good hike up the hill in the jungle to an observation point.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabinas Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Las Palmas

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cabinas Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Las Palmas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.