We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun spot for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda El Rio

Soda El Rio
200 meters south of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479 9341
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Bc
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“a fun spot for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had breakfast here each morning as it was included with our hotel. The food was good and plentiful. A fun spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Fortuna Must Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

On our drive back from Danaus we stopped for a quick lunch. Great food. Friendly service. Ridiculously cheap price. The wifi is reliable. They do not have a liquor license but allow you to bring in beer from the liquor store next door.

I had the Casada con Carne, better than at my hotel and 1/3 of the price. Clean and authentic restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed two nights here. The shower was HOT which was a first and only in Costa Rica. We had a delicious huevos rancheros for breakfast. Internet worked best early and late when others weren't using it. I would stay there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Typical Tico Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a nice place to experience a typical Costa Rican meal. The waitress was friendly and the food was cheap and delicious. I would love to have visited some of the other Sodas in the area as well. Definitely a great way to experience the local flavor and would recommend to all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

While visiting La Fortuna we had lunch at Soda El Rio! It was a great typical Costa Rican meal for a small price! I highly recommend eating there! Delicious!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda El Rio also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda El Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda El Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.