We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda El Rio

Soda El Rio
200 meters south of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479 9341
Improve this listing
Cuisines: South American, Costa Rican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Bullard, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

While visiting La Fortuna we had lunch at Soda El Rio! It was a great typical Costa Rican meal for a small price! I highly recommend eating there! Delicious!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Tico food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good quality, Tico traditional food at inexpensive prices. Nice owner, good service, friendly staff. Large portions and a great free sample of rice pudding.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“CR X-MAS 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good place to have a nice, reasonable and typical Costa Rican breakfast or any other meal. Family run and personal attention. Great for families on a budget.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Still love El Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have visited La Fortuna many times and our first stop is always this family owned soda. Prices are great, and the food is excellent Costa Rican fare. A casada con chuleta is a must! This is our favorite restaurant in Costa Rica. Oh yeah, the french fries are wonderful. The natural drinks are outstanding, we prefer them made with water, the pina and mango are our favorites.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went Back Twice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have a daughter with Celiac and they actually fed her without making her sick!! We all loved our food so much we went back the next night for more food. They were extremely affordable, honest, yummy, friendly and clean!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda El Rio also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda El Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda El Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.