We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the $, no more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Volcan

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel El Volcan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Volcan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150M Norte del parque de la Fortuna San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok for the $, no more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Spent few nights in room 1 - hopefully others are not much worse.

Positive side - decent location, clean room, cheap rates (was like $42/night), management is friendly and speak English, available parking.

Areas for improvement - virtually no furniture in the room - no closet, really had to live out of the bag. Wall between bathroom and the room itself is not all the way to the ceiling - all the bathroom sounds and "aroma" are shared freely. Shower temperature is tricky to regulate and the water easily travels to the room - expect puddles. Sounds from other rooms are very well heard - cardboard walls don't do much in this respect. 13" TV nowadays looks kinda antique. Door locks require some mechanical skills to operate and your luck in actually locking the room from outside depends on humidity level.

All in all it was OK, we were not there to spend much time indoors anyways.

Room Tip: Would try a different room in this hotel if I ever go there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The owner is very nice and helpful guy. They made me feel like i was at home. I actually moved from Baldi Resort & Spa to this place. Staying here made everything so easy. Room was simple, nothing fancy but clean, which is fair ($35 - high season). I was able to walk anywhere from this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa tn 38451
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Check in was super easy. The Owner was waiting for me and I got a better room than I had reseved La Fortuna is a small pueblo and you can walk anywhere in just a few min. Hotel el Volcan is about 3 Blocks from the Central Park. Comfey bed hot water, soap and shampoo along with nice towels were provided. The room was clean with large closet with hangers a few bugs but not a bother.I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Spring for the A/C it is hot and humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is really small, and is really much more a hostel than a hotel. There are a few rooms and a shop. The staff is really nice and helpfull, but the room itself was very simple and not very clean. Another good thing is that there's a fridge and microwave guests can use.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

First, I am surprised that the hotel is rated 2-1/2 stars. It should be closer to 1-1/2 stars to 2. Perhaps that's why some are disappointed. We got two rooms and they were decent but I would have expected more from a 2-1/2 stars, amenities-wise. We didn't read about the room near the road and boy, the group that stayed there suffered all night long. An inch gap from the top and the bottom of the door! (El Volcan, please fix the door!!!!) There's a dining table with a fridge and sink for anyone that needs to fix a simple snack. (The hotel is not too far from restaurants and grocery stores.)
The gentleman in the office was friendlier and more thoughtful than a 3-star hotel staff and we appreciated that. I would like to see a bit more personal touch and better quality for the price we paid--unripped towels and linens, maybe shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom--those things would make a difference on people's experience at El Volcan. I hope the people at El Volcan will read the reviews and make some adjustments--they have the right people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I travelled to La Fortuna to see the sights on a budget...I got a clean, comfortable room in a safe area close to el centro. A/C, hot shower (real ones, not the electric "suicide showers"), and fast WiFi for $42 per night all in.
The owner was incredibly helpful and even refused a tip after all he had done to help with trips, computer issues and late check-out.
I have travelled Costa Rica for 3 weeks and this was the best yet. La Fortuna and the area are gorgeous and this hotel is a great deal for the money. You won't regret staying at El Volcan.

Room Tip: close to the street can be noisy, and the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

El volcan is a reasonably priced no frills budget hotel very close to city center. The place looks more like a home with many rooms than a real hotel. When we arrived there during the peak season, they did not have the right room for the 4 people we had booked. The hotel manager Luis said there was a mix up between Expedia and his system which was showing that we were a party of 2. Since there were no other rooms left he put an extra bed in the already very small room that had 1 full and 1 twin bed. He switched us to the right room the next day and offered free breakfast in a place near by for the next day for the inconvenience caused. The room we got on the first day was right next to the road and had lot of road noise. The room on the second night was away from he road. Definitely ask for a room away from the road. 

The hotel has a large common court yard with a shared fridge and a shared microwave oven. There is a big dining table that you can use to eat. The manager is friendly and goes out of his way to make your stay pleasant. There are some old PCs with Ethernet connections that you can use. There is no WIFI in the facility. There is a small grocery shop with in walking distance that you can buy quick groceries like milk or fruits. The hotel offers discounted prices on local tours. 

Room Tip: Choose a room away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Volcan

Address: 150M Norte del parque de la Fortuna San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Volcan 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.