We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pura vida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge

Save Saved
You added GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   300 Mts North La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30%Off Std, Sup & Villas
Arlington, Texas
1 review
“pura vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

What a "AWESOME" trip !!! Everyone at the lodge went out of their way to make our trip unforgettable. We will return because of the staff. The accomedations were very nice and clean but you can get that most places. What was the stand out were the new friends we made at the Green Lagoon .We loved the location, view, food and again the staff. It was our first time here but it wont be our last....PURA VIDA !!!

Room Tip: Room 10 makes you feel like you have your own private resort and hot tub . And the bungalow they up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
The meaning of Pura Vida is 'Awesome'
And you are Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

WOW! It is hard to explain the sense of peace one can experience when one can get away from the real world to a place like this. Watching Tucans playing in the trees while having our morning coffee, clouds still covering the volcanic cliffs and hillsides just off our back porch....... I can only say that the staff here does everything in there power to see that your stay with them will meet all your expectations and assist you in any way to help with any additional things you may wish.

This is not a massive grand resort hotel location, its total capacity is only approx 24 or so guest. If your looking for glitz and glamore with the pricies to match there are many other locations that would be happy to take your money.

For us though it was a perfect trip in the perfect spot, a short cab ride to town, all of the tours we booked (at the front desk) picked us up in the lobby and were but a short ride to the location.

We found ourselves for the most part 2 of only a hand full of guest at the resort at times. The restaurant was spot on with breakfast! Beautiful fruit plates and pancakes that would set a new standard in the states. We found them there when we needed a quick lunch before a tour and had wonderfully prepared dishes of local fish and beef when we returned.

The grounds and gardens are beautifuly manacured, with tropic flowers in a bundance. Only to be out done by the diversity of their colors and sweet scent.

The superior room are great deals for the economicaly minded traveler.Very nice with local hard wood walls and ceilings, A/C that could double as frig for the entire room, hot water with pressure to finish even the most demanding shower and even a mini frig. to keep your snacks and beverages cold........ BUT.. if you want to step outside the box in a way that will have an effect on your memories of your stay for the rest of your life.... I would highly recommend a few nights in the Bungalo. Yep! Your head is for sure in the clouds now!

Over all, I just can't wait to visit the place again! To all the staff at the GreenLagoon Falls Park and Lodge A Job Well Done! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerroChato, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Such a good description of the marvels we have at GreenLagoon!
Thank you very much, we hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel was beautiful and clean, with a great view and friendly staff. However, I cannot give it a good review because their web site was very misleading in terms of their restaurant and bar. This hotel is an $7-8 cab ride out of town, making it important to us that they have food and drinks available on site. According to the web site their "restaurant" is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Their tiki grill is supposed to be opened from 9 to 9. However, upon arrival during the lunch hour, we learned that the restaurant was only open for breakfast, and the alternate tiki grill actually didn't open until 7 pm. However, they did request that the cook come in specially for us to cook us a typical Costa Rican lunch, which we were served within an hour or so. It was good, but we felt like jerks making the cook come in just for us, and it delayed our other activities. We never saw the tiki bar and grill open, or anyone else eating anywhere except at breakfast. However, we spent the majority of our time away from the hotel, and ate only breakfast the remainder of our stay. From the looks of their website this appears to be a huge spa resort. Although we weren't looking to use the spa features, I don't see how they could have been offered (appointment only?), as the place appeared practically deserted.

Pros: The hotel is beautifully landscaped, and located high up a mountain, providing a wonderful view of the Arenal volcano and the town of La Fortuna. The Cerro Chato hike starts right at the hotel, and the La Fortuna waterfall entrance is just a walk down the hill. Lots of birds nearby. Friendly staff. Clean. Safes and mini fridge available.

Cons: If you decide to stay here, be sure to know its location, as many drivers didn't know where it was. I get the impression it may be too new, not many stay here, and/or it might have changed names recently. If having a bar and restaurant on site is important to you, do not stay here. We felt it was loud too--thin walls, and windows that didn't shut tightly. Morning breakfast prep and birds woke us up. Not unusual in CR though.

Overall, wish they would revise their website, as it is a beautiful place, but not as advertised.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room number 1-next to kitchen. Too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeEcoTraveler, Guest Relations Manager at GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your time and effort to write about our lodge. I deeply appreciate all your comments and the one about a beautiful location. I understand how dissapointed you feel and I am frankly sorry that your experience did not reflect what we strive to provide. I am seriously taking note of each of your comments to bring this issues to our senior ledearship. I assure you that what you experience during a downtime of our business and during transition of department changes will not affect anyone in the future. Next time please stay in one of our Villas. The lodge's goal is to be the most hospitable & friendly place that our guest could find elsewhere, caring and gearing more for the needs of our guests. Just a reminder to our readers, this is a Small 12 Units and growing Mountain Lodge and it is 4 Kms SW of Downtown, immersed in a beautiful park with great views and as our Info for guests states it is not for everyone and we recommend that you have a rental car. Immediate actions that will be taken place effective immediately:
**Revision and changes if needed of our web site **The old SPA will be relocated near the Jacuzzi with the Valley's View. **Our New Natura Restaurant will be completed During the slow season to an amazing hill top area with 360 Views and it will be open as schedule, even in slow days. **
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have been at the Green Lagoon Falls Park & Lodge and can only agree to the positive comments on this page. The location is very nice and the view of the volcano is impressive.
It is located outside of la fortuna which to our opinion is an advantage because the area being in the middle of the nature, quite and remote, good for relaxing. And yes, the place is a good spot to start the hike to Cerro Chato. The normal rooms in the main building may be simple but the bungalows are phantastic. The 360 degree windows from the roof to the floor in combination with a great view and interiour made our stay perfect. Regarding the service we only had nice and helpful staff during whatever time. The jacuzzi with a wonderful view over La Fortuna was heated only for us two guests. The pool also had the same great view and was really inviting for a swim. We could use the internet and got umbrellas as it rained. We also got good advices where in La Fortuna we could take our dinner. During brakfast extra wishes were fulfilled. All together a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeEcoTraveler, Public Relations Manager at GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your encouragement commnets. I let our staff know how satisfied you were and they said "Muchas gracias, Return soon". We would love to show you our improvements since you left. Our policies are improving so that we could serve you better day after day. From the bottom of my heart, I tell you how encouraged I am to continue improving and serving with excellence to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

At 850 meters above La Fortuna Town, the location is great and the view of the volcano is amazing. The place is the perfect spot to start hiking to Cerro Chato or to La Fortuna Waterfall. The rooms are simple, but clean and the staff is very helpful and nice ... thanks Fatima for the great lunch services. The typical full breakfast adds value to the hotel, and the food was great. With a hot jacuzzi and a pool wating for us after hikings, we had a very pleasant stay at Green Lagoon and we would recommend staying here if you don't mind being slightly out of town.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeEcoTraveler, Guest Relations Manager at GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest, I appreciate very much you candid evaluation. As a result of your commnets, we have made great changes to improve. All older Superior and Standard rooms have been remmodeled completely, with new showers, replaced plumbing items, excellent silent walls, and State of Art Energy Efficient Items. We are awaiting a new Evaluation for Sustainability Commitment and hope to obtain the Best of Scores possible. May God bless you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Green Lagoon Lodge was a great place to stay. Everyone went above and beyond our expectations to make sure we had a good time and would want to come back again... and we will!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

When we returned home from our trip to Green Lagoon in La Fortuna, Costa Rica we examined our credit card statement and discovered that they fraudulantly charged our credit card under their parent company " Paradise Mountain Lodge".
They have not responded to any of our attempts to communicate.
We are fighting (along with our credit card company) to get our money back.
Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeEcoTraveler, Owner at GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear Friend,

I noticed your comment on our lodge. Please get in touch with me so that I can resolve your claim. I am sorry that you were disappointed, but the truth is that your comments are hurting us tremendously. I am making every effort to provide a great service there, and I am not quite sure what transpire there. The privious employee has not worked for us since your visit to the lodge, and I will never be able to know what happen to you.

Please e-mail me at greenlagoon@comcast.net. Henry Villegas, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge

Address: 300 Mts North La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Specialty lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is nestled in a 400-acre farm and situated on the Eastern slopes of Cerro Chato and the Southern slopes of Arenal Volcanoes. In fact, the views of the Cerro Chato Volcano and the main active crater of the amazing Arenal Volcano are impressive, and show both its green side as well as its active crater. Its location, bordering both Arenal and Cerro Chato Volcanoes, The Arenal National Park and the Fortuna Waterfall, allows our guests and visitors to observe unlimited quantities of birds, wildlife and fauna in the forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GreenLagoon Falls Park & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.