We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Hermosa private guesthouse w/pool & gardens

Welcome to your private guesthouse
Welcome to your private guesthouse
Welcome to your private guesthouse
Outdoor living & dining room
Outdoor living & dining room
Outdoor kitchen with bar
Spacious master suite with sitting area.
La Fortuna de San Carlos
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
AustinAgg...
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slice of Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a fabulous trip in Costa Rica with our family of four and our stay at the Villa Hermosa was SO wonderful! It is about 10-15 minutes off the beaten track, but what a nice surprise to find a beautiful guest house, pool, lush grounds, large patio with outdoor living space, grill, hammocks, pool table and more! It was a welcome change to our prior hotel stay at the beginning of our trip....much more relaxing and space to unwind and enjoy the surroundings.

Wendy is more than accommodating with great tips on where to go, what to see, tour guides to use, etc. We took her advice on getting the two day pass to The Springs Resort (5 minutes down the road) to soak in their hot springs. This was well worth it as they have numerous pools and a complementary tour of their wildlife refuge. The food there is wonderful and is perfect if you do not want to cook for yourself!

When the sun goes down, we enjoyed playing pool, family games and hanging out on the patio with a glass of wine! It doesn't get any better than this!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The beautiful landscaping
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
My favorite thing is to see families enjoy themselves and spend quality time together. :-) I am so happy you enjoyed yourselves. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
San Francisco
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 6, 2014
So glad you all enjoyed your time here. :-) It's my favorite thing to hear that the kids either don't want to leave or they can't wait to come back. :-) Come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
tenesbum
Cypress, Texas
1 review
“Amazing and Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My mom and I traveled to La Fortuna, Costa Rica and stayed in the Villa Hermosa. Words can not justify how beautiful her place is. Wendy Holt , the owner is just amazing! She made us breakfast every morning and the food was fabulous. We spent a lot of time in the hammock house at the back of her property. I would highly recommend staying at her guest house and will definitely stay there again when I go to Costa Rica again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SamanthaP...
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely house set in amazing gardens just outside of La Fortuna.
Well equipment kitchen.
Wendy is a brilliant host. Nothing is too much trouble. She has lots of good tips of things to do and places to go.
A tip top address.
Stay here if you can.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The gardens
Liked least: Nothing it was all lovely
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Canada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2014
Thank you guys! It was a pleasure to have you here & to get to know you. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ali7151
MO
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2014
Come back & bring your friends, we'll be waiting! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
100 Mile House
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Thank you so much Kim & Glenn, it was so much fun talking with you and your wonderful. You are always welcome back! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$169
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
Owner
Wendy h
5063109614611
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Mar 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing