We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly beyond expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fortuna Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna Backpackers
75 mts Norte del Banco Popular | Frente a la Escuela La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly beyond expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The owner made the end of our trip just what we needed. He took care of us from the moment we arrived to booking us our way out. Travelling gets exhausting when you don't plan ahead and just go with the flow so it was a nice break having someone book everything for us.

Thanks Andrew, we had a blast!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    7
    1
    9
See reviews for
2
11
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in a room with private bath. We had a complimentary breakfast as we booked our Arenal volcano hike with hot springs with them.The staff speaks little English but was very friendly. We had to switch on the fan as it was hot and mosquitoes were buzzing around. It was quiet at night. A typical backpackers hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We experienced a lousy night in this noisy place. We stayed in one of the private rooms. One of the mattrasses was very smelly and the blankets were not very clean. No attempt was made to add any atmosphere to the hostel. The room most likely used to be a storage room. The owner is very helpful and friendly, though. If you go to La Fortuna search a little harder to find better value. We could recommend La Choza Inn behind the church.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We experienced a room with private bathroom. All very simple but nice. 
There's no breakfast included but the kitchen is well equipped and there is a pleasent outdoor dinning area.

We loved the fact that they give free laundry with 3 nights stay - super convenient! 

Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vist
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed there during the rainy season. Very fair prices.... even better that we where the only occupants there. The lady made some GREAT breakfast for us each morning for a very little charge. Would go back anytime! There was no "cooling" system working in our room and the beds where not the best...so at nights it got very hot and hard to sleep. Other then that it's an easy place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nice backpacker with fair rates (compared to others in La Fortuna). Clean rooms with private bathroom and shower.
Breakfast at additional 4$.
WiFi free and fast.
Electricity in the room.
No hooks on the wall.
Friendly staff.
Lockers in sight of reception, bring your own lock.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Nice, clean and cheap hostel. Close to the main street in La Fortuna and very safe. Close to restaurants, bus station and banks. Stayed in a private room with 1 double bed and 1 single bed and was very clean. I paid about $55 for 3 days. Safes are available but you need to bring your own lock. There is always some staff at the hostel until 10 pm everyday. Owner is very helpful and can book trips for much cheaper than online and outside. Not much common area to hang out or read.
Would recommend for solo travelers and bunch of friends traveling too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Fortuna Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna Backpackers

Address: 75 mts Norte del Banco Popular | Frente a la Escuela La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortuna Backpackers, is a familiar Project, with the idea of creating a place where the visitors can lodge in a friendly, clean, safe and low budget space; where they can enjoy all the natural attractions offered by La Fortuna, San Carlos; here converge big touristic attractions, including the majestic Arenal Volcano, accompanied by the hot spring, whitewater rafting, waterfalls and the tropical rain forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna Backpackers Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fortuna Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Fortuna Backpackers to your Saves list