We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most fun nites in Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Rocks Cafe

Lava Rocks Cafe
Costado sur de la iglesia catolica La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 40-4417, Costa Rica
506-24798039
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Latin in Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the most fun nites in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The bartender was awesome. I just had to have a t-shirt. Went during the day w/ husband & wasn't afraid to go back later that nite by myself cuz hubby was tired but I wasn't. Food was good & atmosphere dark & sultry.
If I ever make it back to the Arenal area- I'll definitely be back. I highly recommend a visit if u go see the volcano.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    73
    37
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great Ceviche and Quesadillas! Huge portions for great prices! Because the portions are huge, you need to leave some space for the delicious desserts!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Costa Rica 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Another great restaurant that provides great service for our group of 16, the food was delicious and what we expected and the drinks were yummy. Definitely a place to go back to

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although they were out of the Mango Cheesecake each time we went, I do like that they are dog rescue friendly. I donated to their cause. Please note that they only take cash. No VISA.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service, good drinks and variety of food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were stuck here during a torrential rain and really enjoyed our chance to relax. The arroz con pollo was a particular standout.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Rocks Cafe also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Rocks Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.