We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 consecutive yrs keeps getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Rocks Cafe

Lava Rocks Cafe
Costado sur de la iglesia catolica La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 40-4417, Costa Rica
506-24798039
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kennebunkport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“7 consecutive yrs keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I so look forward to eating at this restaurant every year. Tried many great restaurants in Costa Rica & still keep coming back to Lava Rocks. The food is magnificent. Everything I have tried here I have totally loved. My kid thinks they have the best spagetti in the world. I really love the typical Tico "Casado" the best. The location is great and they are able to serve large groups efficiently. Great fresh juice drinks. Great fish. Love the open concept and accessibility to "JacamarTour" services for Arenal Volcano.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    84
    39
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great nachos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It's well priced, right on the main street in La Fortuna and the nachos are very good! My kids enjoyed the seafood platter, too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kids Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A nice restaurant in town! We sat outside near the sidewalk. The menu had mainly "American" food but it had a Costa Rican tweak to it and was all very good. Service was excellent. A nice relaxing meal after a long day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Food is great with a great price! Check it out the next time you are hanging out at the Arenal Volcano!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Just so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went one night on our visit in LaFortuna. The food items ordered at our table were an Asian chicken salad, cheeseburger and caprese salad. The chicken salad was ok, about 97% lettuce and not much of everything else. I didn't taste the hamburger but my husband ate it and didn't complain. The caprese salad was the best by far. 6 huge slices of tomatoes topped with the usual flair. These three items with each of us having an iced tea was $37. The server was friendly and the food did not take a long time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Rocks Cafe also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Rocks Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.