We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ceviche!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Rocks Cafe

Lava Rocks Cafe
Costado sur de la iglesia catolica La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 40-4417, Costa Rica
506-24798039
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Ceviche!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After a day hiking around the Hanging Bridges, this place offered traditional Costa Rican food at a nice price and the cold beer was perfect! Great service, even if their English wasn't very good. That's forgivable however seeing how my Spanish is terrible! :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    68
    69
    34
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Really interesting menu and a bit more flair than typical Costa Rican fare. Good drinks, fun atmosphere and great music too. Highly recommend for the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I loved it, there presentation is nice.Our order has rice shaped in a volcano. thought that was cute. The service was great and fast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lunch Time - very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stopped off at this cafe for lunch - I tried the casado - it was really nice - never tried it before so was a bit unsure however I did try a few more before my holiday was finished just to compare - this was the best one. We had a couple of beers and the price was very reasonably - very relaxing lunch with no pressure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Foods not fancy but it's good. Be aware that it's 'cash only'. It's situated along the main street in a casual setting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Rocks Cafe also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Rocks Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.