We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Rocks Cafe

Lava Rocks Cafe
Costado sur de la iglesia catolica La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 40-4417, Costa Rica
506-24798039
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Salmon Arm, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Foods not fancy but it's good. Be aware that it's 'cash only'. It's situated along the main street in a casual setting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    73
    37
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
QBGAP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cute, Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The menu had many options. It is not local food - definitely directed towards tourists - but that's okay, especially if you are looking for a break from rice and beans! Good service, good bar options, fun evening. They are cash only so no credit cards!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Costa Rican food-right in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had not been to La Fortuna for a few years so I was anxious to visit one of my favorite restaurants in down town La Fortuna. I was not disappointed, the food is still delicious. I always order one of the sea food plates, however, a friend ordered chicken rice and he was very happy with his meal. The meals are well presented. My shrimp rice was in the shape of a volcano. Their fresh fruit refrescos are excellent. Order made with bottle water or milk. Wine and beer are available. Service is very good. The open air setting sets the tone for down town eating. The ATM, church, town park, pharmacies, supermarkets and souvenir shops are a few steps away. There is also a great tour company operating in the same building.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Year's special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

La Fortuna seems to have a very 'healthy' competition amongst its restaurants and I would put Lava Rocks Cafe close to the top of the list. The food is very good, with some interesting choices and local dishes to try. Service is excellent and the location - well, you can't be closer to the town's centre and all the New Year's Eve shows and fireworks...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
551 reviews 551 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Average but fills you up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

When arrived in town in mid afternoon and had not had lunch yet. We were attracted to this place for the outdoor sitting area. It was not quite the best club sandwich I ever had but I was too hungry to be picky.
Nothing memorable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Rocks Cafe also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Rocks Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.