We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome raft trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Descents

Costa Rica Descents
On the main road, towards the volacno in front of Lava Lounge Bar and Grill, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 8361-2993 / (506) 2479-7308
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Rica Descents is an adventure outfitter specializing in whitewater rafting. On our customized excursions you will literally plunge headfirst into the breathtaking beauty of Costa Rica. Imagine the excitement of whitewater rafting combined with the picturesque environment of Costa Rica's tropical rain forests. With safety as our number one priority, we hand-pick only highly trained and personable guides, whose primary concern is the quality of your experience.We also offer a chance for you to observe our exotic and colorful tropical birds with a qualified ecology expert. With us you can soak away your stress in natural hot springs, explore the country on horseback or a mountain bike and come face to face with the rainforest canopy. We make sure you take full advantage of everything this country s natural beauty has to offer.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Awesome raft trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have had many rafting experiences in North America, but this trip was by far the best! Alberto and crew will ensure you have FUN the entire time, guide you through gnarly rapids and educate you on Tico culture. I did the the upper balsa which are BIG rapids with non stop action. Afterwards the organic farm lunch and tour was the perfect way to unwind and relax with the other rafters. Totally recommend it to anyone looking for an AMAZING rafting adventure!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation! It was a pleasure to take you rafting, and we do hope that we will see you back here in Costa Rica soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    14
    6
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vegabond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pura Vida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thanks to Armando and the Costa Rica Descents crew, I had a wickedly fun, FIRST time, rafting experience! I may not have other rafting experiences to compare this to, but I will say, these guys are impressive and run an excellent business. They give thorough instructions before sending the team out; very informative, technical, and very reassuring for a first-timer. I was confident in their directions and felt safe the entire time. The teams level of experience is exceeding- many of them have rafted for over a decade and in various parts of the world! Their intelligence and humor is a huge bonus to the package- you are sure to walk away with smiles or stick around and hang out with these fun guys after. The food they serve at their farm was delicious. And after the lunch, they took us on a tour of the farm, which I LOVED! They implemented sustainable-oriented systems, like use of the methane gas from cows and organic practices. And our guide, Alberto, knew his stuff, with his background in Biology and hard work.
LOVED IT!
Maybe I would go rafting again, but I would definitely go back on the river with CRD!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review! We are pleased to read you enjoyed your trip with us, and we would love to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Alberto and crew are the absolute best that I have experienced while traveling the world! I have rafted a few great rivers in the US with great guides, but these guides are the cream of the crop. BALLS TO THE WALL!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing Costa Rica Descents ! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorite activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Out of the week we've spent in costa rica, this rafting trip is one of the things we really loved.If we had known how awesome everyone was going to be, we probably would have booked one of the multi tour adventures with them. The guys we hung out with that night who were doing the multi day packages were really pleased with everything. Although the rafting alone would have made it worth the price, the lunch was absolutely amazing (it probably would have cost you a good chunk of change in town to get the same meal and we ate until we were stuffed). We expected a soda on the side of the road since so many things are named finca/farm in costa rica, but it was really a nice farm and I liked it just as much if not more than the rafting itself. Since it's not really open to the public (just the tours), it's nice and peaceful and something you wouldn;t be able to do on your own. I don't want to ruin all the surprises (since they were my favorite part), but let's just say it was a tour that was well worth it and very educational and fun as well. Our guide was hilarious and kept us laughing the whole day. He was our favorite guide so far on our trip. On a side note, your stuff is watched the whole time you are there and is very safe and it doesn't matter if you are a tiny girl like me on the rapids because they are very safe and professional. All the guides have been rafting for years and are super friendly. In other words, take this tour. We would have really regretted it if we hadn't!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on Trip Advisor, and we are so pleased to read you had such a great experience. On behalf of our entire staff here at Costa Rica Descents, we would like to thank you for choosing our company, and also we are very grateful for your recommendation !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best guides around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The guides on the rafts here are the absolute best. I did the class 3/4 trip. I've gone rafting a few times on class 3 - and this ended up being easier than those becuase of how good the guides are at telling everyone how to get through the rapids. They clearly know the river and are more than capable of steering the rafts on their own. Plus - they are a ton of fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crdescents, Owner at Costa Rica Descents, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for recommending our guides, you can be ensured that your kind comments have been passed on to the entire staff here at Costa Rica Descents. We hope to have you back here again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Descents also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Costa Rica Descents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Descents, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.