We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Pizza! But what exactly are their hours!?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anch'io Italian Restaurant

Anch'io Italian Restaurant
attached to Cafe Vienna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Pizza! But what exactly are their hours!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in the are and had the pleasure of eating at Anch'io on our first night! It was amazing the pizza was so good, some of the best we've ever had. While we didn't order pasta, we saw others who did and it look very good. So we decided we wanted to eat here again before we left La Fortuna. So we tried to go back the next night to try the pasta, but they were closed. Which was so weird because it was about the same timing as the previous night. Then on our last day we tried to go again, this time for lunch and again they were closed! We were SO disappointed. We just could not figure out what their hours are!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    90
    33
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Famous for Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice good Italian food of five course dinner , oven frash Pizza & other food also very tasty , place , surrounding and inside decor very nice

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better Italian than I expected in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We read the reviews, but considering I'm quite picky about Italian in the U.S., I wasn't really expecting to like it in C.R. But I did. We all did. We had an app and 3 entrees and enjoyed them all. The atmosphere outside was nice and the service was pretty good. I guess it was a little pricey, but honestly, pretty much all the restaurants we chose were. I guess I was expecting Costa Rica to be a lot cheaper than Atlanta/U.S. But really, it was close to the same.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Food was okay, but not worth what we paied. And, the wait staff was very unfriendly. The menu has no English translation, and our waiter wasn't very interested in helping us through it. This was the only meal during our week in Costa Rica that I left unsatisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

After a week of rice and beans this was a nice change of pace. We were pleasantly surprised with the food and service quality. This is as Italian as it gets for being in Costa Rica. We had soup, garlic bread (complimentary), pizza (fresh ingredients) and fettuccini alfredo (served with ham) - all tasty. The price is average for this touristy town. Met the owner and he was very pleasant and also spoke good English but the other wait staff only spoke Spanish. Happy with our choice and it was nice to have an alternative to the tipico tico food,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anch'io Italian Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Anch'io Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anch'io Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.